Ranking the 10 longest sixes in IPL since 2012

Chris Gayle and MS Dhoni
Chris Gayle and MS Dhoni
Sujith M

Twenty20 leagues across the globe are primarily about fun and entertainment. Star-studded teams, high scoring games, mystery spinners, and the ball traveling everywhere make it an exciting format to the viewers.

One thing that certainly excites the crowd is the sight of the ball disappearing into the stands. Over the years, the number of sixes hit in cricket has increased drastically. Big bats, shorter boundaries, and batting-friendly conditions make T20 cricket a batsmen game.

A total of 872 sixes were hit in 60 matches during IPL 2018, which equates to a little more than astonishing 14 sixes per game. Chris Gayle holds the record for most sixes in IPL with 292 to his name as of now.

Stats are available only from 2012 IPL. Stats courtesy

Here in this article, we take a look at the longest sixes in IPL.

#10 Shane Watson, Travis Head, and Chris Gayle - 109 meters

Shane Watson
Shane Watson

Three brilliant T20 cricketers occupy the tenth spot with a six of 109 meters each. Shane Watson hit RPS' Rajat Bhatia for a six during IPL 2016, which traveled 109 meters at the Chinnaswamy stadium, Bangalore. Travis Head bludgeoned KKR's Umesh Yadav for a six during IPL 2017, which went for 109 meters. Chris Gayle, known for his six hitting abilities, struck one that traveled 109 meters.

#9 David Miller - 110 meters

Enter caption
Enter caption

David Miller is one of the destructive hitters in world cricket at the moment. The 29-year-old is a natural six-hitter and has hit some big ones in the India Premier League. Miller is one of the top six hitters in IPL and has struck 80 big ones from 67 innings for Kings XI Punjab. During the ninth edition of IPL, the Proteas middle-order batsman hit one for 110 meters, which still stays as one of the biggest one in the competition's history.

1 / 5 NEXT
Edited by deebak mohan
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now