Most Man of the Match Awards in a FIFA World Cup

The Man of the Match award is given to the best performing player in every match of the World Cup since 2002. In its first two seasons, the award was chosen by the technical department while since 2010, this award is being picked by an online poll on FIFA's official website.

Argentina captain Lionel Messi and former Netherlands star Wesley Sneijder has won the most number of MOM awards in a FIFA World Cup with 4 awards. Sneijder won his 4 awards during the 2010 World Cup as he helped his national side become the runners up of the tournament. Argentinian Lionel Messi won his 4 MOM awards during the 2014 World Cup. He was the player of the FIFA World Cup too as he felt just short of winning the World Cup for his national side.

During the last World Cup, which was in 2018, England star Harry Kane, Croatian captain Luka Modric, French International Antoine Griezmann and Belgian superstar Eden Hazard all won the MOM three times. Griezmann won his third MOM in the finals of World Cup as his side won the World Cup by defeating Croatia.

World CupPlayer winning most MOM AwardsCountryNumber of Awards
2002 South Korea/ JapanRivaldoBrazil3
2006 GermanyAndrea PirloItaly3
2010 South AfricaWesley SneijderNetherlands4
2014 BrazilLionel MessiArgentina4
2018 RussiaHarry Kane, Antoine Griezmann, Luka Modric, and Eden HazardEngland, France, Croatia, Belgium3

Article image

Go to article
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now