Asia Cup-winning women's team to get Rs 1 lakh each

The victorious Indian team
The victorious Indian team

Hockey India today announced a cash award of Rs 1 lakh each to the 18-member squad which won the Asia Cup in Kakamigahara, Japan.

India pipped China 5-4 in a shootout in the final yesterday, securing a World Cup berth in the process.

Coach Harendra Singh will also get Rs 1 lakh and members of the support staff Rs 50,000 each.

India last won the Women's Asia Cup in 2004 when the event took place in New Delhi.

The team remained unbeaten in the tournament, scoring 28 goals and conceding five.

"This is truly a commendable achievement by the Indian team, bringing back the Asia Cup after 13 years. They have shown great spirit and determination to win this tournament and have rightfully qualified for the World Cup next year as Continental Champions," said Mushtaque Ahmad, Hockey India secretary general.

Quick Links

Edited by Arvind Sriram
Be the first one to comment