Asia Cup Past Winners

Last Modified Sep 12, 2022 10:26 IST

Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup in 2022 by 23 runs, while Pakistan emerged as the runners-up. Find the complete list of all Asia Cup winners in the table below.

Asia Cup Winners List: 1984 to Present

YearHostWinnerWon byRunner-upStadiumVenue
2022United Arab EmiratesSri Lanka23 runsPakistanDubai International Cricket StadiumDubai
2018United Arab EmiratesIndia3 wicketsBangladeshDubai International Cricket StadiumDubai
2016BangladeshIndia8 wicketsBangladeshSher-e-Bangla National StadiumMirpur
2014BangladeshSri Lanka5 wicketsPakistanSher-e-Bangla National StadiumMirpur
2012BangladeshPakistan2 runsBangladeshSher-e-Bangla National StadiumMirpur
2010Sri LankaIndia81 runsSri LankaRangiri Dambulla International StadiumDambulla
2008PakistanSri Lanka100 runsIndiaNational StadiumKarachi
2004Sri LankaSri Lanka25 runsIndiaR. Premadasa StadiumColombo
2000BangladeshPakistan39 runsSri LankaBangabandhu National StadiumDhaka
1997Sri LankaSri Lanka8 wicketsIndiaR. Premadasa StadiumColombo
1995United Arab EmiratesIndia8 wicketsSri LankaSharjah CA StadiumSharjah
1990/91IndiaIndia7 wicketsSri LankaEden GardensCalcutta
1988BangladeshIndia6 wicketsSri LankaBangabandhu National StadiumDhaka
1986Sri LankaSri Lanka5 wicketsPakistanSinhalese Sports Club GroundColombo
1984United Arab EmiratesIndiaIndia won the tournamentSri LankaSharjah CA StadiumSharjah

Winners List of Asia Cup

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup throughout it's history

Who has won the most Asia Cup cricket?

Sri Lanka6

How many Asia Cups has India won?

India has won the most number of Asia Cups with a total of 7 victories of 12 tournaments, making it the most successful team in the history of Asia Cup.

Get the latest Asia Cup live score, news updates & match highlights on Sportskeeda.

Asia Cup will make a return to the cricketing calendar in the year 2022. The multi-nation tournament is organised by the Asian Cricket Council once every two or four years in different parts of the continent. This year, the United Arab Emirates will be the Asia Cup host for the second consecutive time.

Every team dreams to become Asia Cup winners one day. However, when one looks at the Asia Cup winners list, they may notice that only three nations have managed to lift the Asia Cup trophy so far. Here is the complete Asia Cup winners list.

Asia Cup Winners 2018 - India

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup 2018 - India

India are the defending champions of Asia Cup 2022. The Men in Blue won the previous edition of the tournament which happened in the ODI format in 2018.

Playing under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, India topped Group B and Super Fours points table to qualify for the final. They defeated Bangladesh by three wickets in the final to win the Asia Cup.

Asia Cup Winners 2016 - India

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup 2016 - India

India won the only T20I edition in the tournament’s history. Playing under MS Dhoni’s leadership, the Men in Blue beat all the Asia Cup teams in the group stage to top the standings.

They registered an 8-wicket win against Bangladesh in the final match to win the competition.

Asia Cup Winners 2014 - Sri Lanka

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup 2014 - Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka won their 5th Asia Cup title in 2014. They won all four matches in the group stage and then beat Pakistan by five wickets in the final to win. Angelo Mathews was the winning captain.

Asia Cup Winners 2012 - Pakistan

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup 2012 - Pakistan

Pakistan topped the points table in Asia Cup 2012 by winning two of their three matches. They met Bangladesh in the final, where the Misbah-ul-Haq-led outfit emerged victorious by two runs and took the trophy home.

Asia Cup Winners 2010 - India

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup 2010 - India

India finished second on the Asia Cup points table 2010 with two wins in three matches. They lost to hosts Sri Lanka in the group stage but avenged the loss in the final to win their fifth Asia Cup title.

Asia Cup Winners 2008 - Sri Lanka

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup 2008 - Sri Lanka

In the only Asia Cup tournament hosted by Pakistan, Sri Lanka emerged as the champions. Playing under the leadership of Mahela Jayawardene, the islanders topped the Group A and Super Fours standings before defeating India in the final for the championship.

Asia Cup Winners 2004 - Sri Lanka

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup 2004 - Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka topped Group B and Super Fours to advance to the Asia Cup 2004 Final under Marvan Atapattu’s captaincy. They beat India by 25 runs in the final to win the championship on home soil.

Asia Cup Winners 2000 - Pakistan

Asia Cup winners listWinners of Asia Cup 2000 - Pakistan

Pakistan won their maiden Asia Cup title in the year 2000. They topped the group by winning all three matches. In the final, they beat Sri Lanka by 39 runs to capture the title.

Asia Cup Winners - From 1984 to 1997

The Asia Cup happened six times between 1984 and 1997. The inaugural edition was won by India in 1984, while Sri Lanka won the second edition in 1986. India won the next three Asia Cup competitions that happened in 1988, 1990/91 and 1995. The 1997 edition was won by Sri Lanka with a win against India in the finals.