Big Bash Commentators 2022

Last Modified Dec 07, 2022 13:20 IST

The 2022-23 Big Bash League (BBL) season will be the 12th edition of Australia men’s cricket franchise tournament. The BBL 12 is scheduled to start on December 13, 2022, with the match between Melbourne Stars and Sydney Thunder at the Manuka Oval in Canberra.

A total of 56 round-robin matches will be played among the eight participating teams followed by the five-match knockout round also called BBL Finals. The final of the BBL 12 will take place on February 4, 2023 with the venues yet to be announced.

Channel Seven and Foxtel will be covering the BBL matches for the upcoming 2022-23 season in Australia and the rest of the world respectively. In July 2022, former Australia head coach Justin Langer was named as part of Seven’s commentary team for the Australian summer, including the Tests of the national side and the BBL 12.

Seven’s commentary panel received an immense boost with Langer’s arrival as the viewers would be keen to see the 52-year-old’s analysis on Australian players after his unceremonious exit from the Australian team earlier in the year. Langer would join his former teammate and close friend Ricky Ponting in Seven’s commentary team.

Apart from Langer, former West Indies pacers, Ian Bishop and Michael Holding, along with legendary South African fielder Jonty Rhodes are the new entrants in Seven’s commentary panel for the Australian summer.

Former Australia all-rounder Brad Hodge and former women’s team skipper Lisa Sthalekar will host Seven’s show ‘The Spin’ along with Jason Richardson. Matthew Hayden, Simon Katich, Simon Taufel, Damien Fleming, and former Sydney Thunder captain Callum Ferguson, former New Zealand women’s team wicketkeeper Katey Martin are the other prominent names in Seven’s commentary panel.

Big Bash League star players like Aaron Finch (Melbourne Renegades), Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars), Moises Henriques (Sydney Sixers), Alex Carey (Adelaide Strikers) and Sam Billings (Brisbane Heat) will join as guest commentators when their team’s matches won’t be played.

Here’s the list of BBL commentators given below for the 2022-23 season:

Ricky PontingJustin LangerMatthew HaydenBrad Hodge
Simon KatichSimon TaufelLisa SthalekarKatey Martin
Ellyse VillaniGreg BlewettJames BrayshawTrent Copeland
Callum FergusonHolly FerlingDamien FlemingTim Lane
Erin HollandAndy MaherMel McLaughlinAlison Mitchell
Alister NicholsonJason RichardsonSam Billings Aaron Finch
Glenn MaxwellAlex CareyMoises Henriques