Big Bash League Winners List

Last Modified Dec 28, 2022 16:56 IST

The Big Bash League is an Australian franchise T20 cricket league, featuring 8 city-based teams. Big Bash League matches occur during the summer period in Australia, that is, between the months of December and February. The format of the tournament occurs in Double round-robin and Knockout finals. Six teams out of the total quota of participating teams have been successful at lifting the BBL trophy. Established in 2011, the 12th season of the Big Bash League is currently ongoing.

Big-Bash-League-2021-22-Dream11-Prediction-Fantasy-Cricket-Tips-Dream11-Team.jpg (600×450)

YearWinning TeamRunner-Up
2011-12Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2012-13Brisbane HeatPerth Scorchers
2013-14Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes
2014-15Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015-16Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2016-17Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2017-18Adelaide StrikersHobarts Hurricanes
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne Stars
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2021-22Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers

In the inaugural season of the BBL, team Sidney Sixers were crowned the champions. Led by the legendary Australian wicket-keeper, Brad Haddin, Sydney Sixers won five out of the seven matches in the group stage. In the knockout stage, Sidney Sixers went up against the Hobart Hurricanes. Sixers snatched a close win and later in the finals, defeated Perth Scorchers to lift the trophy.

The 2012-13 season was won by the Brisbane Heat. They were tied in the group stage with two other teams with 8 points but went through to the knockout stage due to a better net run rate. Brisbane Heat won a comprehensive victory in the semi-final against the Melbourne Renegades. In the finals, Brisbane Heat defeated the second-time finalists, Perth Scorchers, by 34 runs and were crowned the champions of the second BBL edition.

The following third and fourth seasons were both won by the Perth Scorchers. They won the third and fourth season by defeating the runner-ups, Hobart Hurricanes and Sydney Sixers. Led by Simon Katich in the third season, Scorchers won a dominating victory in the finals, winning it by 39 runs. The following season, Adam Voges-led Scorchers won a thriller against the Sixers, with the winning runs being hit off the last ball.

The 2015-16 season saw a new winner, Sydney Thunders. Led by Michael Hussey, Thunders ranked fourth and barely qualified for the knockout stage. In the knockout stage, they won convincing victories, defeating Adelaide Strikers in the semi-final and Melbourne Stars in the finals. The next season was again won by the already two-time winner, Perth Scorchers. In the sixth edition, Scorchers topped the group stage rankings with five wins. With a capable bowling attack, Scorchers restricted opposing teams to under 150-run scores. They won with 19 balls to spare in the semi-finals and 25 balls to spare in the finals.

Adelaide Strikers were the champions of the 2017-18 season. Travis Head led his team to the knockout phase with seven wins in the group stage. Strikers dominated the finals, defeating Hobart Hurricanes by 25 runs. In the following season, Melbourne Renegades lifted their maiden trophy. Led by the current white-ball captain of the Australian team, Aaron Finch, Melbourne Renegades won 8 out of the 14 matches in the group stages. They chased down 180 in the semi-finals against Sydney Sixers and successfully defended 145 runs in the finals against Melbourne Stars in a derby.

The 9th and the 10th seasons were both won by the inaugural BBL Trophy winners, Sydney Sixers. In the 2019-20 season, Sydney Sixers won 9 out of the 14 group stage matches and qualified for the playoffs. They played against Melbourne Stars in the qualifier and then again in the finals. The following season, they ranked at the top of the points table after yet again winning 9 of their group stage matches. They won comprehensive victories in the qualifiers and in the finals, both against Perth Scorchers.

The latest installment of the Big Bash League has been won by Perth Scorchers. Led by Ashton Turner in the 2021-22 season, Scorchers won 11 out of their 14 group fixtures and qualified for the playoffs. They went up twice against the Sydney Sixers in the playoffs before lifting their fourth trophy . First, they played in the qualifiers, which resulted in Scorchers victory by 48 runs. Next, they faced each other in the finals. Scorchers scored 171 runs in the first innings which they defended magnificently, bowling the defending champions out for a mere 92 runs.