⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

IPL 2018: 5 players who have never played for their state-based IPL franchise

Atharva Apte
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 14:40 IST

Australia v India - Game 3
Delhi native Virat Kohli has played for the Royal Challengers throughout his IPL stint so far

The IPL over the years has seen the transfer of many players from one franchise to another. This diversity is the beauty of the league.

Before the inaugural edition, Sachin Tendulkar (MI), Sourav Ganguly (KKR), Virender Sehwag (DD), Rahul Dravid (RCB), Yuvraj Singh (KXIP) were named as the icon players of their state-based franchises and did not go under the hammer.

However after a decade, there have been few players who have never represented their state-based franchises.

Here is a look at 5 players who have played at least 5 seasons of IPL but never played for their state-based franchise, when the franchise has been a part of IPL for more than 5 seasons.

NOTE: Gujarat Lions and Kochi Tuskers Kerala have not been considered since neither of them played 5 seasons. Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad have been considered since the franchise’s base stayed in Hyderabad for all 10 seasons.

1 / 6 NEXT
Published 18 Jan 2018, 17:00 IST
Fetching more content...