IPL 2019: Know your team - Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians
Nitin Riaan

Complete Squad

Batsmen:- Rohit Sharma (C), Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Siddesh Lad

Wicket-Keepers:- Ishan Kishan, Quinton de Kock, Aditya Tare

All-Rounders:- Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Yuvraj Singh, Anukul Roy

Bowlers:- Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Brainder Sran, Jayant Yadav, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Milne, Rahul Chahar, Mayank Markande

Mumbai Indians (MI) have a squad of 25 players out which 16 were retained from last season and rest 9 have been recruited this year either via auction or transfer window. Yuvraj Singh, Quinton de Kock, Lasith Malinga and Anmolpreet Singh are some notable additions to their unit.

Domestic stars like Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan have been in top form in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and will definitely start in the eleven. Evin Lewis and Quinton de Kock, both are expected to open for Mumbai with captain Rohit Sharma batting a three.

Suryakumar Yadav was the leading run scorer for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2018
Suryakumar Yadav was the leading run scorer for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2018

This is something which the fans wouldn't like but legends like Yuvraj Singh and Kieron Pollard are bound to play the role of back-up options for a team can only field eleven players at once. MI should look to set the permutations and combinations right in order to win matches and not just try to pick stars in the starting XI.

The Pandya brothers too are an integral part of Mumbai set-up and will have a crucial role to play in order to fancy Mumbai's chances for the playoffs. Jasprit Bumrah will be the frontline pacer for his team and return of Lasith Malinga will add depth in their bowling attack. They lack quality spinners and good Indian fast bowlers in their tank. Ben Cutting should be the 4th overseas player to complete the eleven.

Mayank Markande recently made his international debut and will play as the lead spinner in the XI. Mumbai Indians loves the odds for it just can't a coincidence that they have won the Indian Premier League in 2013, 2015 and 2017 and will be hopeful of extracting out their best performance to continue their trend in 2019.

Expected Starting XI

Evin Lewis, Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Ben Cutting, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Mayank Markande

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on IPL 2019 standings, schedule, news, live scores, orange cap, purple cap and fantasy tips.

Edited by GVS Sastry


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...