⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

IPL 2019: Match 39, RCB vs CSK - Match Preview and stats

  • Here's everything you need to know ahead of RCB's encounter with CSK.
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 22:43 IST


The 39th match of the IPL 2019 will be played on 21 April at 8 PM IST between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Chennai Super Kings at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

CSK have won seven matches and lost only two, and are at the top of the IPL points table. On the other hand, RCB are at the bottom of the table, having won only two matches and lost six.

Ahead of their meeting tomorrow, let's take a look at the head-to-head stats between the two franchises and the probable playing XIs for the match.

Head-to-head record

The RCB vs CSK rivalry has seen 24 matches being played so far. CSK have won 16 of those games while RCB have managed to win 7, with one match ending up having no result. Overall, CSK have won the title thrice, while RCB have never gotten their hands on the trophy.

This is the second encounter between the teams this season, with CSK winning the first one by 7 wickets.

Probable XI

Royal Challengers Bangalore

AB de Villiers
AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers will come back to the team and he will replace Heinrich Klaasen. There are no other changes expected.

Probable XI: Parthiv Patel (WK), Virat Kohli (C), AB de Villiers, Marcus Stoinis, Moeen Ali, Akshdeep Nath, Pawan Negi, Dale Steyn, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj.


Chennai Super Kings

Karn Sharma
Karn Sharma

MS Dhoni will come back in the side and replace Sam Billings. Karn Sharma could get one more opportunity if CSK decide to go into this match with only three overseas players. Otherwise, Mitchell Santner will replace him.

Probable XI: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Karn Sharma / Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (C), Moeen Ali, AB de Villiers, Washington Sundar, Parthiv Patel, Navdeep Saini, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Tim Southee, Akshdeep Nath, Kulwant Khejroliya, Heinrich Klaasen, Shimron Hetmyer, Mohammed Siraj, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prayas Ray Barman, Colin de Grandhomme, Umesh Yadav, Pawan Negi, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Devdutt Padikkal, 

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Shane Watson, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir, Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Bravo, Ambati Rayudu, KM Asif, Dhruv Shorey, Faf du Plessis, Kedar Jadhav, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Shardul Thakur, N Jagadeesan, Karn Sharma, Lungisani Ngidi, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Monu Kumar, Mohit Sharma, David Willey.

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on IPL purple cap, points table, schedule, news, live scores, orange cap and fantasy tips.

Published 21 Apr 2019, 10:00 IST
Fetching more content...