IPL: All the Purple Cap winners from 2008-18

Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super Kings - IPL T20
Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super Kings - IPL T20

Presently, T20 has completely become a game of the batsmen with grounds being smaller along with the reduction in the pace of the bowlers. However, the Indian Premier League is a kind of tournament which has remained aside from this fact by providing benefits to the bowlers as well.

The IPL became a huge success in its inaugural year 2008 only because of the new 8 teams based on the states of India and the 2 unique caps as the awards. Orange and Purple Caps were the two awards which grabbed attention when they were introduced in IPL in the year 2008.

The bowler who picked the most wickets in the entire season of IPL was awarded the Purple Cap. The player who holds the Purple Cap at a period in the tournament is also allowed to wear it during the matches during which he is the leading wicket-taker. At the end of the tournament, the leading wicket-taker is rewarded a stunning Purple Cap.

Also Read: IPL: All the Orange Cap winners from 2008-18

So far, 9 players have won this award in the history of the Indian Premier League. Such players who have achieved this feat from 2008 to 2018 are:

#1 Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals, 2008)

Sohail Tanvir won the first purple cap in the history of IPL.
Sohail Tanvir won the first purple cap in the history of IPL.

The inaugural season of Indian Premier League was the only season which also featured the Pakistani players. Later on from 2009, the Pakistani players were not allowed to participate in IPL. However, the year 2008 remained as one of the most memorable ones for some Pakistani players like Sohail Tanvir.

Tanvir played the first season for Rajasthan based franchise known as Rajasthan Royals. He stunned the fans in the first season itself with his quick swinging yorkers at the death. He proved to be a major bowling star for Rajasthan along with Shane Warne.

Tanvir picked up 22 wickets from 11 matches and went home with the Purple Cap as he was the leading wicket-taker of that season.

1 / 10 NEXT
Edited by Aditya Joshi
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now