IPL: Chennai Super Kings's first ever IPL XI- Where are they now?

Enter c
Chennai Super Kings have won the IPL Trophy 2 times.
Syed Tariq

Chennai Super Kings are the most consistent team in the IPL and are the only franchise to qualified for the playoffs in every edition of IPL they have participated in. Apart from that, Chennai Super Kings are one of the 3 franchises to have won the IPL trophy more than once, with the other two franchises being Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders who have won the IPL Trophy thrice and twice respectively.

This year in IPL 2018, Chennai Super Kings will return to IPL after being suspended for two years by BCCI, due to the team owners being involved in betting and spot-fixing.

Chennai Super Kings reached the finals in the inaugural edition of IPL, where they lost to Rajasthan Royals in the last over. Chennai Super Kings played their maiden IPL match against Kings XI Punjab on 18 April 2008 and won the high scoring encounter by 33 runs.

Only two players who took the field for Chennai Super Kings in their maiden IPL match against Kings XI Punjab are now part of Chennai Super Kings franchise currently. 

So let us look at the playing XI of Chennai Super Kings which took the field in their maiden IPL encounter:

#1 Parthiv Patel (WK)


Parthiv Patel opened the innings for Chennai Super Kings in their maiden IPL match, along with Matthew Hayden. The Indian wicket keeper scored 15 runs off 10 balls and was dismissed by Brett Lee. Overall in IPL 2008, Parthiv scored 302 runs in 13 matches at an average of 25.17 with a strike rate of just above 100.

Parthiv Patel made his Indian debut in 2002 against England at Trent Bridge at 17 years and 153 days to become Test Cricket's youngest wicket keeper. Emergence of MS Dhoni, coupled with Parthiv's inconsistent performances with the bat and poor wicket keeping skills especially against spinners meant that Parthiv is yet to establish himself as a regular wicket keeper of Indian Test Team, even after the retirement of MS Dhoni from test cricket in December 2014.

Parthiv Patel is considered as a journey man in IPL, as his IPL franchise keeps on changing in almost every edition of IPL and has so far played for 6 IPL franchises. In IPL 2018, Parthiv will turn out for Royal Challengers Bangalore, who bought him at the recently concluded IPL auctions.

#2 Matthew Hayden

Enter c

Australian legendary opener, Matthew Hayden scored 25 runs off 17 balls in Chennai Super Kings maiden IPL match, before being dismissed by Irfan Pathan in the 6th over of Chennai innings.

Hayden played just 4 matches in the inaugural edition of IPL, as he had to leave for national duty. But in the 4 matches, he played Hayden scored 189 runs at an excellent average of 63, with a strike rate of 144.27.

Hayden played for Australia from 1993 to 2009 and was hailed by his teammates Ricky Ponting and Justin Langer as the greatest ever opener from Australia. In IPL, Hayden was part of Chennai Super Kings from 2008-2010 and also won the Orange Cap in IPL 2009. Hayden finally retired from the IPL after Chennai Super Kings successfully won the IPL 2010, and currently works as a commentator and cricket analyst.

Play Fantasy Cricket at StarPick & Win up to Rs. 10 Crores as well as Signed Kits by IPL Stars.

1 / 6 NEXT
Edited by Amar Anand
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now