New User posted their first comment

IPL History: Most Valuable Players of all the seasons

Modified 15 Mar 2019, 20:03 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

#2. Adam Gilchrist- 2009

An explosive opening batsman and a skilful wicket-keeper, Adam Gilchrist is probably one of the best wicket-keeper batsmen of all time. Deccan Chargers signed him in the inaugural edition of the IPL and declared him as their captain.

After a horrible season in 2008, Gilchrist led his team to IPL glory in the following year. Amidst all the speculations, Deccan Chargers defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals to lift the IPL trophy for the first time.

In 16 IPL matches, Gilly scored 495 runs in that season with the strike-rate of 152.30. Moreover, he was the leader of the young pack who always led by example in the times of adversity.


#3. Sachin Tendulkar- 2010

Sachin Tendulkar mesmerized cricket fans from all over the world for over two decades. Tendulkar played for his home team, Mumbai Indians, since the first edition of the IPL.

He was honoured as the Most Valuable Player in the third IPL edition after scoring most number of runs in that season. Although Mumbai Indians faltered in the end as they failed to clinch the title despite finishing top of the table, the ‘Little Master’ played some sublime innings in that season at the top of the order.


Tendulkar scored 618 runs in 15 innings at an incredible average of 47.53. He scored five half-centuries in that campaign and was also won the Orange Cap in the process.


Published 15 Mar 2019, 20:03 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit