SRH retained players 2023: Full list of players retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad ahead of IPL Auction

Abdul Samad (L) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (R). (Pics: Instagram)
Abdul Samad (L) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (R). (Pics: Instagram)

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have retained a total of 12 players ahead of the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) mini-auction on December 23 in Kochi.

The 2016 champions have decided to persist with the likes of Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik, T Natarajan, and Abdul Samad.

Afghanistan's Fazalhaq Farooqui, New Zealand's Glenn Phillips, and South Africa's Marco Jansen and Aiden Markram are the overseas players retained by SRH. Notably, the team will have to look for a new captain, given that they have released Kane Williamson.

While Williamson is one of the notable absentees from SRH's retention list, they have also parted ways with the likes of West Indies superstars Romario Shepherd and Nicholas Pooran in an attempt to increase their purse.

However, there is a possibility that the franchise could re-sign a few of its recently released players at the auction. SRH will go into the event with a hefty purse of ₹42.25 crore. The team finished eighth in the previous edition and will be aiming to make amends by coming up with an improved performance in the upcoming season.

SRH retained players list with price ahead of IPL 2023 Auction

After their underwhelming last season in the cash-rich league, the Hyderabad think tank has decided to introduce several changes to their setup and has parted ways with a number of notable names.

They have identified some talented Indian players along with four overseas stars around whom they will aim to rebuild their squad at the auction. Here is the list of all the players retained by Hyderabad ahead of the auction:

Player Price (in Rs)
Abdul Samad4 crore
Rahul Tripathi8.50 crore
Aiden Markram2.60 crore
Glenn Phillips 1.50 crore
Abhishek Sharma6.50 crore
Marco Jansen4.20 crore
Washington Sundar8.75 crore
Fazalhaq Farooqi 50 lakh
Bhuvneshwar Kumar4.20 crore
Umran Malik4 crore
Kartik Tyagi4 crore
T Natarajan4 crore
#OrangeArmy, here are the #Risers who will continue to be a part of our journey for #IPL2023 🧡 #SunRisersHyderabad

The 10 franchises will take part in a mini-auction ahead of the 16th season of the league. The much-awaited event is scheduled to be held in Kochi on December 23.

Get IPL 2023 Live Score along with Points Table & Schedule Updates at Sportskeeda.

Quick Links

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee
Be the first one to comment