"Navdeep Saini - The new Siraj of RCB" - Twitterati trolls the pacer

Navdeep Saini
Navdeep Saini
Suryesh M

Navdeep Saini's selection in the playing XI for the game against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) seemed to have upset many fans on Twitter.

Right after Virat Kohli mentioned the pacer would replace Shahbaz Ahmed at the toss, fans expressed their disappointment on the micro-blogging site.

Fans drew quite a few comparisons between Mohammad Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, and Navdeep Saini. They commented that Siraj was walking in Bumrah's path in terms of nailing the yorkers and variations, while Navdeep Saini was walking in the ace pacer's path in terms of bowling no-balls.

The fact that Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) also failed to pick up a wicket in the powerplay for the first time this season disappointed the aficionados. In the first over he bowled in this match, Navdeep Saini conceded 14 runs and even bowled a no-ball.

Navdeep Saini's struggles with the ball

Navdeep Saini hasn't been at his best with the ball in recent times. Thus, the Haryana cricketer was sidelined for RCB's first four games of the season.

In IPL 2020, Navdeep Saini featured in 13 matches but could only pick up six wickets at an average of 63.16 and an economy rate of 8.29.

Navdeep Saini last played in an ODI game for India against Australia towards the end of last year. He didn't feature in any of the past five 50-over games against England recently.

Saini has also been out of the reckoning for the T20I side. It's been more than a year since the 28-year-old represented India in the shortest format of the game.

Saini did feature in a couple of Test matches against Australia this year, where he picked up four wickets at an average of 43. He hasn't played any cricket since the Brisbane Test and it is understood he'll be quite rusty after the three-month break.

The playing XIs for CSK vs RCB:

Royal Challengers Bangalore (Playing XI): Virat Kohli (c), Devdutt Padikkal, Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers (wk), Washington Sundar, Daniel Christian, Kyle Jamieson, Harshal Patel, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c)(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir

Edited by Arjun Panchadar
Article image

Go to article

Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now