New User posted their first comment

Top 5 run-scorers in IPL history 

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina
Vijay Raman
Modified 17 Jan 2019, 19:52 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

The Indian Premier League is about to start in 2 months time, and there is a lot of excitement in the air on how the league will turn out especially because of the fact that the ICC World Cup 2019 is scheduled to commence just weeks after the conclusion of the 2-month long extravaganza.

The upcoming edition of the IPL is set to start much earlier than usual in order to ensure that the players got adequate keep players fresh ahead of the World Cup.

The IPL has historically produced a number of match winners not just to Indian cricket, but many of the overseas players also owe their success at the international level to the tournament.

Since the inception of the IPL in 2008, the tournament has witnessed many of the great performers. In this article, we will take a look at the top 5 run-getters in the history of India's most popular T20 tournament.

#5 Robin Uthappa - 4129 runs

Robin Uthappa
Robin Uthappa

The wicketkeeper-batsman has been a part of this tournament right from its inception and has had a successful career so far. Robin Uthappa has played for as many as 4 teams throughout his IPL career and has been a consistent performer over the years.

Uthappa has always been in the mix among contenders for the orange cap. His best IPL till date has to be the 2014 season wherein he amassed 660 runs in just 15 games at an average of 47 for the Kolkata Knight Riders

In the 2014 IPL season, Uthappa also created a record of posting 40-plus scores in 10 consecutive matches.

Thus far, Uthappa has scored 4129 runs in 165 games at an average of 28.67 and a strike rate of 131.70 in the IPL.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 17 Jan 2019, 19:52 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit