⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Breaking: 55 man shortlist announced for FIFA FIFPro World XI 2016

Sumedh Pande
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 08:51 IST
ZURICH, SWITZERLAND - JANUARY 11: The FIFA/FIFPro World XI for 2015 receive their awards during the FIFA Ballon d
These 11 players formed the World XI in the FIFA awards last year

FIFA awards are considered to be the biggest recognition that a player can get for his performances in a calendar year. FIFA FIFPro XI has always been a much-anticipated feature of the yearly awards as the best possible lineup is selected to be included in the prestigious team of the year.

As always, a 55-man shortlist is announced from which the best 11 will get the nod to feature in the all-star lineup.

The shortlist features five goalkeepers, 20 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 strikers. The final eleven will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d'Or ceremony which is held at Zurich each year. The ceremony is scheduled for 9 January 2017 which includes the team of the year award which is given to the best eleven players from different clubs and selected by the players only.

Also read: 5 players who deserved to be on the 30 man Ballon d'Or shortlist

25,000 players from 75 countries voted to nominate 55 players with each person getting to vote for one goalkeeper, four defenders, four midfielders and three forwards. FIFPro and the national associations have the responsibility to gather all the votes from professional footballers worldwide.

Here is a list of all the 55 players that are nominated for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2016 :

Goalkeepers : Claudio Bravo (Chile/FC Barcelona/Manchester City), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), David de Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid) and Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich).

Defenders : David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona), Serge Aurier (Côte d’Ivoire/Paris Saint-Germain), Héctor Bellerìn (Spain/Arsenal), Jérôme Boateng (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy/Juventus), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus), Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona/Juventus), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain/Chelsea), Diego Godín (Uruguay/Atlético Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund/FC Bayern Munich), Philipp Lahm (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid), Gerard Piqué (Spain/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain) and Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid).

Midfielders : Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andrés Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), N’Golo Kanté (France/Leicester City/Chelsea) Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid), Mesut Özil (Germany/Arsenal), Dimitri Payet (France/West Ham United), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus/Manchester United), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), David Silva (Spain/Manchester City), Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain) and Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Bayern Munich).


Strikers : Sergio Agüero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Paulo Dybala (Argentina/Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (France/Atlético Madrid), Gonzalo Higuaín (Argentina/Napoli/Juventus), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Müller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Alexis Sánchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suárez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona) and Jamie Vardy (England/Leicester City).

Published 01 Dec 2016, 17:40 IST
Fetching more content...