IPL 2017: On-field umpire gaffe allows Sunrisers Hyderabad's David Warner to face extra delivery against Mumbai Indians
The two sides are taking on each other at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai.
The 10th match of the Indian Premier League 2017 between the Mumbai Indians and defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad is well underway at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai. After winning the toss, the Mumbai Indians opted to bowl first. David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan were off to a rather slow start with the run-rate hardly rising above 6 in the first 6 overs of the match.
Shikhar Dhawan took his time to get going as he managed to score only 6 runs in 13 balls. However, he soon started to fire by hitting a four and a six in the 7th over of the match. Warner, on the other hand, wasn't too explosive as he kept hitting the occasional boundary and rotating the strike.
If we have to pick out one negative point from the IPL this year, it has got to be the umpiring. We have seen a lot of umpiring howlers over the past week. MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma were even reprimanded for teasing and showing dissent towards the umpire.
Unfortunately, there was another goof-up by the umpires Nitin Menon and CK Nandan during the change over between the 5th and 6th over of the match. Warner hit Bumrah for a four at the end of the 5th over and as should have been the norm, Dhawan should have been on strike at the beginning of the 6th over.
However, the umpires were caught napping and David Warner took the strike at the beginning of the 6th over to face Mitchell Mccleneghan.
Here is what happened in the two deliveries:
5.5: Bumrah to Warner, FOUR! Warner expertly placed a moving delivery to the left of a chasing third man. No power there, all timing. Warner just used the pace provided to him by Bumrah.
6.1: McClenaghan to Warner, 1 run, full on the stumps, Warner tried to hoick it to long on, but ended up skying the ball to the leg side. It reached long on in one bounce.
Warner played the last ball of the 6th over...hit a boundary. And then played the 1st ball of the 7th over. How on earth is that possible???— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) April 12, 2017