IPL Most Consecutive Fifties

Last Modified Apr 28, 2023 14:12 IST

IPL Most Consecutive Fifties

Player50sRunsTeamOppositionVenueMatch Date
Virender Sehwag557DDPWIDelhiApril 21, 2012
--87*DDPWIPuneApril 24, 2012
--73DDMIDelhiApril 27, 2012
--63DDRRDelhiApril 29, 2012
--73DDRRJaipurMay 01, 2012
Jos Butler567RRDDDelhiMay 02, 2018
--51RRKXIPIndoreMay 06, 2018
--82RRKXIPJaipurMay 08, 2018
--95*RRCSKJaipurMay 11, 2018
--94*RRMIMumbaiMay 13, 2018
David Warner570*SRHKXIPMohaliApr 8, 2019
--51SRHDDHyderabad (Deccan)Apr 14, 2019
--50SRHCSKHyderabad (Deccan)Apr 17, 2019
--67SRHKKRHyderabad (Deccan)Apr 21, 2019
--57SRHCSKChennaiApr 23, 2019
Virat Kohli4109RCBGLBengaluruMay 14, 2016
--75*RCBKKRKolkataMay 16, 2016
--113RCBKXIPBengaluruMay 18, 2016
--54*RCBDDRaipurMay 22, 2016
Kane Williamson456SRHRCBHyderabadMay 7, 2018
--83*SRHDDDelhiMay 10, 2018
--51SRHCSKPuneMay 13, 2018
--81SRHRCBBangaloreMay 17, 2018
Faf du Plessis495*CSKv KKRMumbaiApril 21, 2021
--50CSKv RCBMumbaiApril 25, 2021
--56CSKv SRHDelhiApril 28, 2021
--50CSKV MIDelhiMay 1, 2021

T20 cricket is not just about smashing from the word go until the final ball of the innings. It also requires the skillset for the batters to assess the conditions and situations of the game and adopt to it accordingly.

There was a point when experts would say that if a player scores 30-40 runs in T20s then it was commendable. But that's not the case in the world of modern-day cricket and considering that you are an avid follower of Bazball era, the scope of conventional batting isn't fruitful.

Perhaps a fifty wouldn't be that fancy because of the benchmark set by Jos Buttler in IPL 2022 (four centuries in the season).

Nevertheless, the consistency factor can never be ignored in any any format. Top order batters, particularly the openers, have the edge to pile up as many runs in the tournament.

There are three batters in the IPL to score consecutive fifties on as many as five times. Virender Sehwag, Jos Buttler and David Warner jointly hold the record of most consecutive fifties in IPL.

Sehwag became the first batter in the history of T20 cricket to hit five consecutive fifties. He achieved the feat while leading Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in IPL 2012.

Sehwag scored 57 against Pune Warriors India in a losing cause but his unbeaten 87 off 48 balls guided Delhi to an eight-wicket victory against the same opposition in their next game.

Sehwag hit 73 against Mumbai Indians with support from Mahela Jayawardene (55) and Kevin Pietersen (50*) helped Delhi post 207/5. They eventually won by 37 runs to muster successive wins.

The Delhi skipper scored 63 against Rajasthan Royals at Feroz Shah Kotla (now Arun Jaitley Stadium) as the home side sealed a one-run thrilling win on the last ball. In Daredvils' next game against Royals, Sehwag hammered 37-ball 73 to set the tone for the 142-run chase. DD wrapped the game with 28 balls to spare.

Playing in his first season for Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2018, Jos Buttler became the second player and first overseas player to attain the feat. He was slotted in to bat in the middle order either at No.5 or No.6, where he managed only 100 runs in seven innings. The moment he was promoted to open the batting order along with Darcy Short,

Buttler hit 67 against Delhi Darevils albeit in a losing manner. He scored 51 and 82 against Punjab in RR's next two games before remaining unbeaten on 95 in a 177-run chase versuse CSK. Another magnificent 94 not out followed against Mumbai Indians as Rajasthan won by seven wickets.

Warner was the third player to hit five consecutive fifties in IPL in the year 2019. He started the season with a couple of fifties followed by a brisk century against RCB. However, he didn't carry the momentum in his next two innings.

But got back to the scoring ways when SRH played Punjab Kings. The opener made 70 even though they lost by six wickets. He scored 51 against Delhi Capitals and 50 against Chennai Super Kings before paving the way with 38-ball 67 while chasing 161 against KKR. SRH won three matches in a row before their streak was cut short by CSK in a six-wicket defeat but Warner made 57 in the first innings.

Kane Williamson (SRH) and Faf Du Plessis (CSK) have scored four fifites in a row in 2018 and 2021 respectively.