South Africa Team vs India 2019

Last Modified Sep 05, 2019 16:18 IST

South Africa are all set to take on India in September 2019, and will play three test matches and 3 T20 Internationals starting from 15 September 2019. The South Africa squad for the Test Series and T20I series has already been finalised and several new players have been called up as South Africa start their preparation for the 2020 ICC World T20.

South Africa Team - Test Squad

Faf du Plessis (c)Batsman
Temba Bavuma (vc)Batsman
Theunis de BruynBatsman
Dean ElgarBatsman
Zubayr HamzaBatsman
Quinton de KockBatsman / Wicket Keeper
Aiden MarkramBatsman / Wicket Keeper
Rudi SecondBatsman / Wicket Keeper
Vernon PhilanderAll Rounder
Keshav MaharajAll Rounder
Anrich NortjeBowler
Lungi NgidiBowler
Dane PiedtBowler
Kagiso RabadaBowler
Senuran MuthusamyBowler

*Last updated on 22 Aug 2019

South Africa Team - T20 Squad

Reeza HendricksBatsman
Rassie van der Dussen (vc)Batsman
Temba BavumaBatsman
David MillerBatsman
Quinton de Kock (c)Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Andile PhehlukwayoAll Rounder
Bjorn FortuinAll Rounder
Dwaine PretoriusAll Rounder
Jon-Jon SmutsAll Rounder
Junior DalaBowler
Anrich NortjeBowler
Kagiso RabadaBowler
Tabraiz ShamsiBowler
Beuran HendricksBowler

*Last updated on 22 Aug 2019

Team South Africa for SA tour of IND 2019

Faf du Plessis will be leading the SA squad in the Test series, which is a part of the ICC World Test Championship. Temba Bavuma has been named as his deputy and Quinton de Kock has been selected as the main wicket-keeper for the team. Apart from the experienced players such as Lungi Ngidi, Vernon Philander and Kagiso Rabada, two players will have a chance to receive their Test Caps during the series.

Also see - India vs South Africa Head to Head

The two players include Anrich Nortje and Senuran Muthusamy who have received their place in the South Africa team for the ICC World Test Championship have impressed the selectors by their performance in the last season of the Four Day Franchise Competition. Although Rudi Second was also selected as the new entrant in the team for the series, but he was replaced by Heinrich Klaassen due to injury.

The selection of South Africa squad for the T20I series is quite surprising as the Faf du plessis has been dropped from the team. However, it was later clarified by Cricket South Africa that they are looking for alternative leadership for the 2020 ICC World T20 and du Plessis has been dropped for that reason. The wicket-keeper batsman, Quinton de Kock will lead the SA squad in the T20I series against India, with Rassie van der Dussen as his deputy in the series.

South Africa v India - 3rd Test Day 3

There are 3 new entrants in the South Africa team for the T20I series, who are Temba Bavuma, Bjorn Fortuin and Anrich Nortje. Anrich Nortje has already made his ODI debut for South Africa, and so has Temba Bavuma for Tests but Bjorn Fortuin will be playing his first international match in India, if he plays at all.

Aiden Markram, Theunis de Bruyn and Lungi Ngidi have been dropped for the T20I series against India as they wanted to prepare for the Test series that will succeed the T20I series. They will be playing against India A team instead. Another prominent Proteas player, Chris Morris has not been selected in the South Africa team for his unavailability due to personal reasons in either series for the tour.