T20 World Cup Captains

Last Modified Oct 22, 2021 16:20 IST
IndiaVirat Kohli
NamibiaGerhard Erasmus
NetherlandsPieter Seelar
Sri LankaDasun Shanaka
AfghanistanMohammad Nabi
EnglandEoin Morgan
IrelandAndy Balbirnie
ScotlandKyle Coetzer
West IndiesKieron Pollard
South AfricaTemba Bavuma
OmanZeeshan Maqsood
PakistanBabar Azam
Papua New GuineaAssad Vala
AustraliaAaron Finch
New ZealandKane Williamson

A captain of a cricket team is its leader on and off the field. ICC T20 World Cup is no different. Over the years there have been many ICC T20 World Cup captains, some very successful, some not so much. This year, 16 T20 World Cup 2021 teams will participate in the tournament.

In terms of ICC T20 World Cup title wins, Former West Indies’ captain Daren Sammy is the most successful team captain, with two titles to his name. He went on to win the IPL trophy in the years 2012 and 2016.

MS Dhoni has captained the Indian cricket team for a total of 33 times, the most by any player in the ICC T20 World Cup history. Dhoni has 1 ICC T20 World Cup title win to his name.

India 2021 Captain - Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli will play his first and last ICC T20 World Cup event as Indian captain in 2021. He played under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the previous editions. This year, Kohli has clarified that he will step down as the Indian T20I captain after the mega event in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

Indian T20 World Cup Captain -  Virat Kohli

Namibia 2021 Captain - Gerhard Erasmus

Namibia will be a part of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 qualifying round. Gerhard Erasmus will captain the Namibian team. He is a 26-year-old all-rounder, who bats right-handed and bowls right-arm off-break.

T20 World Cup Captain - Gerhard Erasmus

Netherlands 2021 Captain - Pieter Seelar

Another nation in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 qualifying round having an all-rounder as their captain is Holland. Their skipper Pieter Seelar is 34 years old. He bats right-handed and bowls slow left-arm orthodox spin.

T20 World Cup Captain - Pieter Zeeler

Sri Lanka 2021 Captain - Dasun Shanaka

Sri Lanka cricket team is also a part of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 qualifying round. Pace-bowling all-rounder Dasun Shanaka will lead the islanders. He is 30 years old.

T20 World Cup Captain - Dasum Shanaka

Afghanistan 2021 Captain - Mohammad Nabi

Afghanistan was initially set to play under the leadership of Rashid Khan. However, he stepped down and was replaced by Mohammad Nabi. Mohammad is a spin-bowling all-rounder.

T20 World Cup Captain - Mohammad Nabi

Bangladesh 2021 Captain - Mahmudullah

Another all-rounder who will play the skipper’s role in ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is Mahmudullah. The Bangladeshi star has led his team brilliantly of late. He is a 35-year-old spin-bowling all-rounder. Mahmudullah will be keen to take his team to the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 semi final.

T20 World Cup Captain - Mahmadullah

England 2021 Captain - Eoin Morgan

After leading the England cricket team to a historic ICC Cricket World Cup win in 2019, Eoin Morgan will look forward to winning his first ICC T20 World Cup as captain. Morgan is a white-ball specialist batter. In 2016, England reached the ICC T20 World Cup final under his captaincy.

T20 World Cup Captain - Eoin Morgan

Ireland 2021 Captain - Andy Balbirnie

Ireland will participate in the qualifying stage of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Andy Balbirnie will lead the Irish squad. Balbirnie is a 30-year-old right-handed batter who can also bowl right-arm off-breaks.

T20 World Cup Captain - Andy Balbirnie

Scotland 2021 Captain - Kyle Coetzer

Veteran opening batter Kyle Coetzer has been assigned the responsibility of leading the Scotland cricket team in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Like Ireland, Scotland are in the qualifying round. Coetzer is a 37-year-old right-handed batter. He can also bowl right-arm medium pace.

T20 World Cup Captain - Kyle Coetzer

South Africa 2021 Captain - Temba Bavuma

Leading South Africa for the first time in an ICC event will be their top-order batter Temba Bavuma. The Proteas have performed decently in T20I cricket under Bavuma’s leadership. Bavuma is a 31-year-old right-handed batter. He bowls right-arm medium pace.

T20 World Cup Captain - Temba Bavuma

West Indies 2021 Captain - Kieron Pollard

One of the most successful all-rounders in T20 cricket history, Kieron Pollard will captain the defending champions West Indies in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Pollard has a tough task in his hands because the Caribbean side is placed in the ‘Group of Death’ along with Australia, South Africa and former champions England in Super 12s.

T20 World Cup Captain - Kieron Pollard

Oman 2021 Captain - Zeeshan Maqsood

Co-hosts of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Oman will play under the captaincy of Zeeshan Maqsood. He is an opening batter, who bats left-handed. The 33-year-old can also chip in with a few overs of slow left-arm orthodox spin.

T20 World Cup Captain - Zeeshan Maqsood

Pakistan 2021 Captain - Babar Azam

Former ICC T20 World Cup winners Pakistan will play under the leadership of Babar Azam in the upcoming T20 World Cup event. Azam is a right-handed batter. Many regard him as one of the finest T20I batters in the world. Azam will have an opportunity to prove himself as a match-winner in the upcoming T20 World Cup. He will face a stern test in the tournament opener when the Pakistan cricket team locks horns with arch-rivals, T20 World Cup 2021 India squad at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

T20 World Cup Captain - Babar Azam

Papua New Guinea 2021 Captain - Assad Vala

Papua New Guinea will make their ICC T20 World Cup debut this year. They will be skippered by regular captain Assad Vala. Assad is a 34-year-old left-handed batter. The ambidextrous player can also deliver a few overs of right-arm off-breaks. Papua New Guinea will try to make their mark in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup.

T20 World Cup Captain - Assad Vala

Australia 2021 Captain - Aaron Finch

Australia hold the record for the most ICC Cricket World Cup wins. However, they have never lifted the ICC T20 World Cup trophy. Playing under the captaincy of Aaron Finch, the Aussies will be keen to end their title drought. Finch is a right-handed opening batter who bowls left-arm spin.

T20 World Cup Captain - Aaron Finch

New Zealand 2021 Captain - Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson led New Zealand to the semifinals of the previous edition of the ICC T20 World Cup. They won all of their group matches but suffered a defeat against England in the semifinals to crash out of the competition. The Blackcaps are one of the favorites to win the ICC T20 World Cup this year. Earlier this year, they won the inaugural ICC World Test Championship under Williamson’s leadership.

T20 World Cup Captain - Kane Williamson


Who is the T20 World Cup captain of India?

The India squad for T20 World Cup is captained by Virat Kohli.

Who is the most successful captain in the history of the ICC T20 World Cup?

Daren Sammy, who is the former captain of West Indies (WI) is the most successful captain in the history of the T20 World Cup as he has won the most number of T20 World Cup titles which is a record '2 times'.

Who are the captains of ICC T20 World Cup 2021?

Namibia Captain is Gerhard Erasmus, Netherlands Captain is Pieter Seelar, Sri Lanka Captain is Dasun Shanaka, Afghanistan Captain is Mohammad Nabi, Bangladesh Captain is Mahmudullah, England Captain will be Eoin Morgan, Ireland Captain is Andy Balbirnie, Scotland Captain is Kyle Coetzer, South Africa Captain is Temba Bavuma, West Indies Captain is Kieron Pollard, India Captain is Virat Kohli, Oman Captain is Zeeshan Maqsood, Pakistan Captain is Babar Azam, Papua New Guinea Captain is Assad Vala, Australia Captain is Aaron Finch and New Zealand Captain is Kane Wlliamson.