Champions League Winners

Real Madrid are the current holders of the UEFA Champions League. A total of 22 clubs have won the Champions League title. Los Blancos have won the Champions League the most times. The UEFA Champions League has been won by 22 clubs all together, 14 of which have won it more than once. Real Madrid is the most successful club in the tournament's history, having won it 14 times, dominating the first five seasons. As of now, Cristiano Ronaldo is the lead scorer in the tournament’s history followed by Lionel Messi.

The final of the 2021-22 season UEFA Champions League saw Liverpool and Real Madrid go head-to-head and it was the latter who came out on top. A goal from Vinicius Jr. in the 59th minute proved to be the winner as Los Blancos lifted their 14th UCL trophy.

UEFA Champions League Winners list by year

2021-22Real MadridLiverpool1-0
2020-21ChelseaManchester City1-0
2019-20Bayern MunichParis Saint-Germain1-0
2017-18Real MadridLiverpool3-1
2016-17Real MadridJuventus4-1
2015-16Real MadridAtlético Madrid1-1 (5–3)
2013-14Real MadridAtlético Madrid4-1
2012-13Bayern MunichBorussia Dortmund2-1
2011-12ChelseaBayern Munich1-1 (4–3)
2010-11BarcelonaManchester United3-1
2009-10InternazionaleBayern Munich2-0
2008-09BarcelonaManchester United2-0
2007-08Manchester UnitedChelsea1-1 (6–5)
2001-02Real MadridBayer Leverkusen2-1
2000-01Bayern MunichValencia1-1
1999-00Real MadridValencia3-0
1998-99Manchester UnitedBayern Munich2-1
1997-98Real MadridJuventus1-0
1996-97Borussia DortmundJuventus3-1

The UEFA Champions League was introduced in 1955 as the European Cup and was a straight knockout competition initially, open only to the champion club of each nation. The competition was renamed to UEFA Champions League from the 1992–93 season, after undergoing some diverse changes of marketing and TV rights.

The champions league brought with it a round-robin group stage, allowing multiple entries from certain countries and has since been growing, with some of the strongest leagues now providing up to five teams to participate in this annual tournament.

The tournament begins with a group stage of 32 teams, divided into eight groups.

The winning team and the runners-up from each group then progress to the next round, while the third-placed team enters the, second tier, UEFA Europa League.

For the round of 16, the winning team from one group is matched up against the runners-up from another group, and the teams from the same association may not be drawn against each other. However, starting from the quarter-finals, the draw is entirely random, without the protection of association.

The knockout games are played in a two-legged format, except the final.

Champions League Trophy


1) Who has won the Champions League the most times?

Real Madrid has won the Champions League 14 times, dominating the first five seasons.

2) Who won the first Champions League?

The first Champions League was won by Real Madrid during the 1955-56 season.

3) Which teams have won the Champions League?

Real Madrid - 14

AC Milan - 7

Liverpool - 6

Barcelona - 5

Bayern Munich - 6

AFC Ajax - 4

Manchester United - 3

Internazionale Milano - 3

Benfica - 2

Juventus - 2

Porto - 2

Chelsea - 2

Nottingham Forest - 2

Aston Villa, Borussia Dortmund, Celtic, Feyenoord, Hamburg, Marseille, PSV Eindoven, Red Star Belgrade and Steaua București have one title each.

4) How many English teams have won the Champions League?

Aston Villa, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester United and Nottingham Forest are the 5 English teams to have won the Champions League.

5) Who won the UEFA Champions League in 2020?

Bayern Munich won the 2020 UEFA Champions League with the final score 1-0. They beat Paris Saint-Germain F.C. and secured their fifth Champions League title.

6) Who won the UEFA Champions League in 2021?

Chelsea won the 2021 UEFA Champions League final after a 1-0 victory against fellow Premier League giants Manchester City.