Copa America All time Top Scorers

Last Modified Jun 11, 2021 11:11 GMT

List of Copa America All time Top Scorers

S.NoPlayerGoals ScoredNationality
2Norberto Mendez17Argentina
3Severino Varela15Uruguay
4Lolo Fernandez15Peru
5Gabriel Batistuta13Argentina
8Jose Manuel Moreno13Argentina
9Hector Scarone13Uruguay
10Roberto Porta12Uruguay

The Copa América is the world’s oldest international football tournament, established in 1916. Uruguay has been the most successful team, winning the tournament 15 times. The Copa America 2019 will be the 46th edition and is scheduled to kick off from 14th June in Brazil.

Here is a quick look at the Copa America All time Top Scorers since its inception. Popular players like Lionel Messi and Alexis Sanchez have not been able to make it to this list.

The Copa America All time Top Scorers are Argentina’s Norberto Mendez and Brazil’s Zizinho, having scored 17 goals each. The former helped Argentina win the esteemed title for three consecutive years from 1945 to 1947.Brazilian playmaker Zizinho was a star of the 1940’s and 1950’s Brazil side and was Pele’s inspiration and idol. Zizinho was a part of the Brazil squad which clinched the trophy in 1949. He completed the attacking trio alongside Ademir and Jair. He was considered as the greatest Brazilian player before the 1960’s.

Severino Varela and Lolo Fernandez are tied at third place in the Copa America All time Top Scorers list with 15 goals in the tournament to their name. Varela successfully led his Uruguay team to the title in 1942 after failing to win it in the previous two editions. Varela is widely known for his astonishing ball control and powerful headers. His aggressive attitude while playing, singled him out as a great talent. Teodoro Fernandez also known as Lolo Fernandez, was a Peruvian football legend. He captained the side from 1935 and is fondly remembered as El Canonero (The Cannoneer). He was a centre forward and had great shooting skills.

Gabriel Batistuta is one of the tournament’s most recognisable goalscorers and also ranks fifth in the Copa America All time Top Scorers list, 1993 Copa America final remains his finest moment. He powered Argentina to the Copa America title in 1991 and 1993, and also finished with the Golden Boot in both the competitions.