Who is playing in NFL 2024 Hall of Fame game? All about enshrinement week matchup

Pittsburgh Steelers v Minnesota Vikings
Who is playing in NFL 2024 Hall of Fame game? All about enshrinement week matchup

The Chicago Bears and Houston Texans will face off in the NFL 2024 Hall of Fame game. Both franchises will headline the traditional curtain raiser for the NFL preseason.

All about the NFL 2024 Hall of Fame Game

The 2024 Hall of Fame Game will feature two franchises with expectations heading into the 2024 NFL season.

The Chicago Bears enter 2024 with the first overall pick in Caleb Williams and a reworked roster to make head coach Matt Eberflus' task easier. The Bears ended last season with a dismal record, but they have no more excuses, thanks to an impressive draft and a couple of stellar free-agency moves.

As for the Houston Texans, they're no longer the league's best secret. The Texans had a phenomenal 2023 and they rode on the back of MVP-contending rookie C. J. Stroud to secure a deep postseason run in the stacked AFC Conference.

According to the NFL's official website, the game begins at 8 p.m. ET on Thursday, August 1, 2024. The Hall of Fame ceremony will occur on Saturday, August 3, 2024.

Four major former players of both teams will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Devin Hester, Julius Peppers, Steve McMichael of the Chicago Bears and Andre Johnson of the Houston Texans will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2024. Let's take a look at their legacies.

1. Devin Hester, Return specialist

Devin Hester is regarded by many as the greatest return specialist in the history of the NFL. As of 2024, Hester is the only return specialist inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The four-time Pro Bowler played for the Chicago Bears, Atlanta Falcons, Baltimore Ravens and Seattle Seahawks in his illustrious career.

2. Julius Peppers, Defensive end

Julius Peppers was one of the greatest defensive players of his era and a key member of every team he represented in the NFL. He has quite the individual accolade case.

The former Bears star earned six All-Pro nods, nine Pro Bowl selections, and spots on the NFL 2000s All-Decade Team and NFL 2010s All-Decade Team.

3. Steve McMichael, Defensive tackle

Steve McMichael enjoyed a productive NFL career, primarily with the Chicago Bears. He also won a Super Bowl, earned four All-Pro nods and two Pro Bowl selections, and is among the Top 100 greatest Bears ever.

4. Andre Johnson, Wide receiver

Andre Johnson played for three teams but is best remembered for his time with the Texans. In fact, he still holds most of the franchise's receiving records. Just imagine a world where C. J. Stroud was throwing passes to the seven-time Pro Bowler Johnson.

Quick Links

App download animated image Get the free App now