Houston Texans


Full NameHouston Texans

Nick NameTexans


GroundNRG Stadium

Team Owner(s)Janice McNair

Prominent PlayersDeAndre Hopkins, Andre Johnson, J.J. Watt, Ariane Foster


The Houston Texans play in the AFC South Division of the NFL. They are the newest franchise in the NFL, established in 1999. The city of Houston previously had a franchise known as the Houston Oilers who played between 1960 and 1996 before relocating to Nashville and renamed as the Tennessee Titans. The Houston Texans joined the NFL as an expansion team in 2002. The Texans struggled for the first ten years of their NFL journey before successfully making it to their first playoffs in 2011. The founder of the team, Bob McNair said that the name Houston Texans represented the pride, strength, and independence of the people of Houston which would reflect in the football of the team. The Houston Texans are currently one of the most valuable teams in the NFL worth around $4.7 billion as per Forbes.

Houston Texans Next Game

To follow news about the next Houston Texans game, follow the detailed schedule here: (Insert as widget)

Houston Texans Roster 2022-23

Follow the detailed Houston Texans Roster and Depth Chart by clicking here.


3Kyle AllenQB
6Jeff DriskelQB
10Davis MillsQB
28Rex BurkheadRB
26Royce FreemanRB
33Dare OgunbowaleRB
34Troy Hairston IIFB
12Nico CollinsWR
13Brandin CooksWR
4Phillip DorsettWR
15Chris MooreWR
19Amari RodgersWR
88Jordan AkinsTE
83O.J. HowardTE
9Brevin JordanTE
84Teagan QuitorianoTE
79Jimmy MorrisseyC
54Scott QuessenberryC
76Austin DeculusOT
67Charlie HeckOT
71Tytus HowardOT
78Laremy TunsilOT
60A.J. CannOG
59Kenyon GreenOG
64Justin McCrayOG


92Rasheem GreenDE
52Jonathan GreenardDE
55Jerry HughesDE
45Obo OkoronkwoDE
56Thomas BookerDT
96Maliek CollinsDT
93Kurt HinishDT
91Roy LopezDT
97Mario AddisonDL
53Blake CashmanOLB
48Christian HarrisOLB
32Garret WallowOLB
58Christian KirkseyMLB
49Jake HansenLB
43Neville HewittLB
44Jalen Reeves-MaybinLB
21Steven NelsonCB
29M.J. StewartCB
37Tavierre ThomasCB
38Jacobi FrancisDB
25Desmond KingDB
1Tremon SmithDB
5Jalen PitreFS
23Eric MurraySS
36Jonathan OwensSS

Houston Texans Record- Last 10 Years

SeasonDivision FinishRecordPlayoffs
20213rd AFC South4-13-0Did not qualify
20203rd AFC South4-12-0Did not qualify
20191st AFC South10-6-0Lost Divisional Playoffs
20181st AFC South11-5-0Lost Wild Card Playoffs
20173rd AFC South4-12-0Did not qualify
20161st AFC South9-7-0Lost Divisional Playoffs
20151st AFC South9-7-0Lost Divisional Playoffs
20142nd AFC South9-7-0Did not qualify
20134th AFC South2-14-0Did not qualify
20121st AFC South12-4-0Lost Divisional Playoffs

Houston Texans Championships

The Houston Texans struggled in their initial years in the NFL. The team endured a last place finish in their division in the inaugural 5 out of 6 seasons. The team won their first Divisional title in 2011. Since then, the Texans have drastically improved upon their playoff record.

The Texans have won a total of six Divisional Championships but are yet to win any Conference Championships. The Texans are also one of four NFL teams yet to even appear in a Super Bowl game. The Houston Texans are also yet to make it to a Conference Championship game. The young franchise has some ways to go, to start a Championship tally.

Popularly Asked Questions

What is the Houston Texans Chant?

The Houston Texans have a number of team chants however, the signature Houston chant is the “And that is good for the Houston Texans”, which is sung after the team gets their first down. The main chant throughout a Texans game is the “We are Texans Chant”.

Where is the Houston Texans Home Stadium?

The Houston Texans home stadium is called the NRG Stadium which was constructed in 2002. The stadium was formerly known as the Reliant Stadium. The stadium is located at 1 NRG Parkway in Houston, Texas. It was the first NFL stadium to feature a retractable roof. The stadium also hosts United States men’s soccer games and Mexico national football team friendlies.

Read more about the Most Expensive Stadiums in the NFL.

How many quarterbacks have the Houston Texans had?

To date the Houston Texans have had 19 different starting quarterbacks. Matt Schaub has been the longest serving quarterback for the Houston Texans, serving as the starting quarterback for seven straight seasons (2007-2013). The current Houston Texans quarterback is Davis Mills.

Where can I stream Houston Texans games?

You can stream any Houston Texans game on the Houston Texans app or the NFL Game Pass app. Texans games are also streamed on FOX Sports, or ESPN or CBS.

Are the Houston Texans playing in the NFC or AFC?

The Houston Texans have always competed in the American Football Conference since they started playing in the league. The Texans have won their division title a total of 6 times since they started playing in 2002.

Fetching more content...