Most Valuable Player in IPL 2023

Last Modified Apr 28, 2023 17:33 IST

Jos Buttler is currently at the top of the IPL Player Rankings list with 387.5 points, followed by Hardik Pandya at second position with 284.5 points.

Most Valuable Player in IPL 2022

1Jos Buttler17387.5
2Hardik Pandya15284.5
3Andre Russell14281
4Prasidh Krishna17273
5Liam Livingstone14265.5
6Wanindu Hasaranga16258
7Mohammed Shami16252.5
8Rashid Khan16250
9Trent Boult16245.5
10Sanju Samson17244.5

Shikhar Dhawan celebrating his century in the IPL 2021 season

IPL Most Valuable Player : 2008-2022

2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2020Jofra ArchersRajasthan Royals
2019Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2018Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2015Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2014Glenn MaxwellPunjab Kings
2013Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2012Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians
2009Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers
2008Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals

The Most Valuable Player in IPL is the cricketer who earns the most points on the MVP Chart of a particular season. Before the 2013 season, the best player of an IPL season received the ‘IPL Man of the Series’ title. However, the organizers changed it to the IPL Most Valuable Player in 2013.

How do players get the IPL Most Valuable Player award?

There is a special rating system, under which the cricketers earn points for fours, sixes, wickets, catches, dot balls, and stumpings. For every four, the player gets 2.5 points, while a maximum earns him 3.5 points.

A catch or a stumping equal to 2.5 points, and a wicket gets the player 3.5 points. The bowler earns one point for every dot ball bowled. The leader of this standings takes the IPL Most Valuable Player trophy home.

Who has won the Most Valuable Player award in IPL for the most number of times?

Kolkata Knight Riders’ all-rounders Andre Russell and Sunil Narine have earned the tag of the ‘Most Valuable Player in IPL’ two times each in their careers. Russell won it 2015 and 2019, whereas Narine was the Most Valuable Player in IPL 2012 and 2018.

Andre Russell playing for KKR

Meanwhile, former Rajasthan Royals all-rounder Shane Watson has also been adjudged the player of the tournament twice. He won the Man of the Series trophy in 2008. Five years later, he became the first cricketer to become the Most Valuable Player in IPL.

Get the latest IPL news updates on Sportskeeda everyday.

Who won the Most Valuable Player award in IPL 2020?

Rajasthan Royals’ all-rounder Jofra Archer claimed the IPL Most Valuable Player award in 2020. The English player topped the MVP standings with 305 points to his name.

Jofra Archer playing for Rajasthan Royals

Archer picked up 20 wickets, bowled 175 dot deliveries, smashed five fours and ten sixes as well as took five catches to beat the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah, and Rashid Khan to become the Most Valuable Player in IPL 2020. No other player could score 300 MVP points last year.