Most Centuries in IPL History

Last Modified May 21, 2023 22:40 IST

Most Centuries in IPL History

1Chris Gayle1424965639.72148.96
2Jos Buttler822831539.87149.70
3Virat Kohli2377263736.73129.63
4KL Rahul1093889448.01136.22
5David Warner1625881442.00140.69
6Shane Watson1453874430.99137.91
7AB de Villiers1845162339.7151.68
8Sanju Samson1383526329.14135.71
9Hashim Amla1616230.56130.84
10Shikhar Dhawan2066244235.05126.35

One of the biggest achievements for a batter is to score a century in any of the formats of cricket. And it takes an herculean task to muster a three-figure score in T20 cricket.

Players with the caliber of power-hitting and scoring brisk rate are promising to score a century in T20s. IPL is no different as there are numerous records made in terms of scoring a century.

A total of 75 centuries have been scored in the last 15 editions of the IPL. Former New Zealand cricketer Brendon McCullum was the first player to hit an IPL century in the first game of IPL 2008.

McCullum scored 158* off 73 balls with the help of 10 fours and 13 sixes for Kolkata Knight Riders against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bengaluru. McCullum scored his second century (100*) while playing for Chennai Super Kings against Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2015.

West Indies swashbuckling batter Chris Gayle has the most centuries in IPL. The left-handed batter has amassed six centuries in 141 innings in the 13 seasons he played for KKR, RCB and KXIP (now PBKS).

Gayle never scored a century in the KKR shirt in the first three seasons of his IPL career. He went unsold in the IPL 2011 auction but was later named as a replacement for Dirk Nanes at RCB.

In his first game for RCB against his previous team KKR, Gayle slammed 102* off 55 balls as RCB chased 172 with 11 balls to spare. Gayle made 107 against Punjab in the same season.

He was unbeaten on 128 against Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in IPL 2012 and then came the record-breaking 175* against Pune Warriors India in IPL 2013. Gayle scored 117 against Punjab in IPL 2015, which was his fifth IPL century and second against Punjab.

Gayle moved to the Punjab outfit in IPL 2018 after spending seven seasons with RCB. He hit 104* off 63 balls versus SRH laced with just one boundary and 11 massive sixes. The major highlight of that knock was smashing four sixes in a row off Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan.

Former RCB captain Virat Kohli and Rajasthan Royals opener Jos Buttler are the only two players in the history of IPL to score

four centuries in one season.

Kohli achieved the record during his 973-run season in IPL 2016 with an average of 81.08 and a strike rate of 152.03, while Buttler notched it in his astounding run in IPL 2022 where the opener amassed 863 runs in 17 innings at a strike rate of 149.05.

David Warner, KL Rahul and Shane Watson are leveled with four centuries in IPL. Gayle (2011), Watson (2018) Rahul (2022), Hashim Amla (2017) and Shikhar Dhawan (2020) have scored a couple of centuries in a season after Kohli and Buttler.