T20 World Cup Host

Last Modified Oct 12, 2022 19:44 IST

The T20 World Cup 2022 is hosted by Australia.

T20 World Cup Host: From 2007 to 2024

YearStarting DateFinals dateHostFinal Stadium
2024JuneTBDWest Indies & United StatesTBD
2022October 1313 NovemberAustraliaMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
2021October 17November 15UAE and OmanDubai International Stadium, Dubai
2016March 8April 3IndiaEden Gardens, Kolkata
2014March 16April 6BangladeshSher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka
2012September 18October 7Sri LankaR Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
2010April 30May 16West IndiesKensington Oval, Barbados
2009June 5June 21EnglandLord’s, London
2007September 11September 24South AfricaWanderers, Johannesburg

T20 World Cup 2022 Host - Australia

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will be hosted by Australia. Earlier, they were set to host the 5th edition of the tournament. But, due to the global pandemic COVID-19, ICC had to postpone the tournament to 2022. Cricket Australia will leave no stone unturned in making this season of the T20 World Cup a big success. The main league of the tournament will begin on 16th October with the opening game set to be played between Sri Lanka and Namibia.

A total of 16 teams are taking part in the tournament including Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, West Indies, and Zimbabwe.

T20 World Cup 2022 Host

T20 World Cup 2021 Host - UAE and Oman

UAE and Oman will be co-hosting the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Initially, the tournament was supposed to happen in India. However, the BCCI moved it to the Gulf nations. The tournament will begin on October 17 and end on November 14, with Dubai International Cricket Stadium playing host to the finale.

T20 World Cup 2021 hosts - UAE, Dubai and Oman

T20 World Cup 2016 Host - India

8 stadiums across India played host to the ICC T20 World Cup 2016. Unfortunately, a few matches could not happen due to rain interruptions. But overall, fans enjoyed the competition between teams on Indian pitches.

T20 World Cup 2016 Host - India

T20 World Cup 2014 - Bangladesh

Bangladesh hosted the entire ICC T20 World Cup across three venues. Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium hosted the summit clash. Despite having home advantage, Bangladesh finished last in Group 2.

T20 World Cup 2014 host - Bangladesh

T20 World Cup 2012 Host - Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka became the first Asian nation to host the ICC T20 World Cup in 2012. The home team made it to the final, but lost to the West Indies. Three T20 World Cup venues hosted the tourney in 2012.

T20 World Cup 2012 Host- Sri Lanka

T20 World Cup 2010 Host - West Indies

Three countries - Guyana, Barbados and St. Lucia hosted the 2010 ICC T20 World Cup. Hosts West Indies failed to win the competition. A venue each in the three countries hosted the T20 World Cup fixtures.

T20 World Cup 2010 host - West Indies

T20 World Cup 2009 Host - England

Three venues across England played host to the ICC T20 World Cup 2009. The host nation struggled a bit in the competition. The final happened at Lord’s.

T20 World Cup 2009 Hosts - England

T20 World Cup 2007 Host - South Africa

South Africa was the first nation to host the ICC T20 World Cup. To date, it is the only African country to host the tournament. Three stadiums of the country were used for the matches.

T20 World Cup 2007 host - South Africa


1) Who is the host of T20 World Cup 2022?

Australia will host the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

2) Who hosted the ICC T20 world cup 2021?

Oman & UAE co-hosted the ICC T20 World Cup in the year 2021.

3) Who will be hosting the 2024 T20 World Cup?

West Indies and the US will co-host the next ICC T20 World Cup in 2024.

4) How is the host for the T20 World Cup decided?

The executive committee of the ICC votes for the hosts after they receive bids from the various nations interested to host the ICC T20 World Cup. Of late, there has been a rotational policy in place for the hosting rights of the Cricket World Cups.

5) How many times has India hosted the T20 World Cup?

India hosted the T20 World Cup only once in 2016 since it's conception.