New User posted their first comment

All favourites through to summit clash of the 58th Kerala Senior State Championship

Modified 11 Dec 2013
The Men’s semifinal tips off between defending champion Ernakulam men (in dark blue) against Pathanamthitta.

The Men’s semifinal tips off between defending champion Ernakulam men (in dark blue) against Pathanamthitta.

‘Elevate Sports’ Daily Wrap

In the most engaging day’s action so far, the young men’s teams from Pathanamthitta and Kottayam showed us glimpses of what the future of Kerala basketball promises to offer. Kottayam, in particular, riveted in their go for broke approach against last year’s runners up Trivandrum.

Led by the deceptive looking Robin S, Kottayam kept punching above their weight category for three entire quarters. In the fourth, a below par Trivandrum managed to execute just about enough to go through to the finals.

Defending champions Ernakulam men too progressed to the finals with relative ease by beating Pathanamthitta. Abhilash TS top scored for Ernakulam with 24 points.

Trivandrum and Palakkad to meet in the women’s finals

Just like the men’s section, it will be a replay of last year’s finals when defending champion Palakkad take on last year’s runners up Trivandrum. Both the teams put away their semifinal opponents with little fuss. Trivandrum looked especially ominous with their international frontline of Jeena PS and Stephy Nixon denying Kannur any breathing space in the paint.

Results brought to you by ‘The Furtado Initiative’

Semifinals Day 5 (Friday, 7th December 2013)


  1. Thiruvanthapuram 62 (Merlin Baby 16, Jeena PS 12) bt Kannur 39 (Aswathy S Thampy 26)
  2. Palakkad 73 (Surya P R 20, Lijimol Mol 18, Neenumol PS14, Athira 10)  bt Kottayam 43 (Poojamol KS 11,Minnu Marium Joy 11, Vinaya Joseph 10)


  1. Ernakulum 89 (Abhilash TS 24, Monish Wilsom 14, Basil Philip 13, Bony Mathew 13) bt Pathanamthitta 59 (Nicewin M 19, Vineeth Mohan 9)
  2. Thiruvanthapuram 74 (Ajeeth Sugunan 27, Vijobi Vakkachan 21) bt Kottayam 54 (Robin S 16, Akhil Mathew 14, Sunny Arun Babu 10)

Quarterfinal Results Day 4 (Thursday, 6th December 2013)


  1. Kottayam 78 (Robin S 19,Akhil Mathew Sunny 11,Sreerag N Nair 10) bt Kollam 68 (Jomon Jose 24, Deepu SS 12)
  2. Ernakulum 55 (Bony Mathew 11) bt Kannur 29 (Mohammed SB 16)
  3. Thiruvanthapuram 58 (Ajeeth Sugunan 14, Albin Baby 14, Umesh Krishnan 10) bt Thrissur 24 (Jovin P Vincent 10)

Finals Schedule Day 6 (Sunday, 8th December 2013)

4.00PM Kottayam v. Thrissur in the Everest Veteran Men’s Basketball Tournament Finals

5.30PM Trivandrum v. Palakkad Women

7.00PM Ernakulam v. Trivandrum Men

Republished with permission from Original post.

Published 08 Dec 2013, 12:27 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now