Boston Celtics


Full NameBoston Celtics


GroundTD Garden

Prominent PlayersJaylen Brown, Marcus Smart, Jayson Tatum, Al Horford


Boston Celtics are an American Basketball team competing in the Eastern Conference Atlantic Division of the NBA. Celtics were founded in 1946 and play their home games at the TD Garden. Celtics have won 17 NBA Championships, tied most for any team in the history of the NBA.

Celtics history

Boston Celtics won their first NBA Championship in 1957 and won 8 Championships in a row from 1959-1966. Bill Russell was picked by Celtics in 1957 and the Center went on to win 11 NBA Championships with the franchise, making him the most decorated NBA Player in history. Post the Bill Russell era, Celtics won 2 Championships in the seventies and three in eighties. After winning the championship in 1986 with Larry Bird leading the war, the Celtics suffered a 22-year trophy drought. In 2008, 'Boston Three Party' (Ray Allen, Paul Pierce and Kevin Garnett) inspired the Celtics to their 17th NBA Championship. Their rivalry with the Los Angeles Lakers is well documented and the two teams have met a record 12 times in the NBA Finals, of which Celtics have won 9.

Celtics in Recent Years

The Celtics in 2013 announced that Brad Stevens would take up the role of the head coach of the franchise. They missed the playoffs that season but it was universally recognized as a work in progress. The franchise acquired Marcus Smart in the NBA Draft as the sixth overall pick as they continued to build for the future. With the mid-season acquisition of Isaiah Thomas, the Celtics were boosted by having a player of his caliber and it propelled the team to the seventh seed, enough to qualify for the postseason. They were eventually swept by the Cleveland Cavaliers in the first round.

The following season pretty much was the same as Boston clinched fifth spot in the playoffs race. They drafted Terry Rozier with the 16th overall pick. Again in the playoffs they were eliminated in the first round by the Atlanta Hawks.

The 2016-17 season saw the Boston Celtics make the Eastern Conference Finals. This was largely down to the impressive season Thomas was having and the addition of Al Horford on a four-year deal. Their campaign ended when Thomas went down with a hip injury.

The next season was constructed on the team trading Thomas, Jae Crowder and Zizic in return for Kyrie Irving from the Cleveland Cavaliers along with the drafting of Jayson Tatum. They once again had a remarkable season as the team was led by Jayson Tatum and Marcus Smart, as Kyrie Irving was ruled out for the majority of the campaign with an injury.

With high hopes and expectations, the 2018-19 term ended in disappointment as there were rumors of dressing room turmoil involving Kyrie Irving. Since he was a free agent, they decided to not renew his contract but instead moved for Kemba Walker. The team reached the Eastern Conference Finals but lost to the Miami Heat in the 2019-2020 season. The 2020-2021 season was a disappointment and longtime coach, Brad Stevens, was made the head of basketball operations. The new head coach heading into the 2021-2022 season is Ime Udoka.

Boston Celtics Record - Last 10 Seasons

SeasonDivision FinishConference FinishRecordPlayoffs
2020-20213rd6th36-36Lost First Round
2019-202nd3rd48-24Lost Conf Finals
2018-193rd4th49-33Lost Conf Semifinals
2017-182nd2nd55-27Lost Conf Finals
2016-171st1st53-29Lost Conf Finals
2015-162nd5th48-34Lost First Round
2014-152nd7th40-42Lost First Round
2012-133rd7th41-40Lost First Round
2011-121st4th39-27Lost Conf Finals

Celtics Championships

The Celtics have won the NBA Championship a record 17 times. They won the title in 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986, 2008. Bill Russell, Larry Bird, and Paul Pierce were the main players that won the Celtics the titles.

Current Roster

Sl. No.PlayerPositionJersey No.
1Jayson TatumForward0
2Jaylen BrownGuard7
3Grant WilliamsForward12
4Payton PritchardGuard11
5Marcus SmartGuard36
6Dennis SchröderGuard71
7Romeo LangfordForward9
8Enes KanterCenter13
9Aaron NesmithGuard26
10Al HorfordCenter42
11Bruno FernandoCenter28
12Jabari ParkerForward20
13Josh RichardsonGuard8
14Sam HauserForward30
15Brodric ThomasGuard97
16Juancho HernangómezForward41
17Robert WilliamsCenter44

Fetching more content...