Toronto Raptors


Full NameToronto Raptors

Nick NameRaptors


GroundScotiabank Arena

Prominent PlayersKyle Lowry, Serge Ibaka, Norman Powell, Pascal Siakam, OG Anunoby, Fred Van Vleet, Marc Gasol


Toronto Raptors are a Canadian professional Basketball team competing in the Eastern Conference Atlantic Division of the NBA. They won their first ever NBA championship in 2019, defeating the Golden State Warriors.

Raptors history

The Raptors were founded in 1995 and play their home games at Scotiabank Arena. Raptors were founded as part of the NBA's expansion plans and are the only Canadian team in the league. The Canadian side have managed to win the division title five times, including four in the last five seasons. Some of the prominent players to have played for the Toronto Raptors include Vince Carter, DeMar DeRozan, Chris Bosh, etc.

Raptors in recent years

The Toronto Raptors rebuild began with the hiring of GM Masai Ujiri. Despite making the post season consistently, the Raptors weren't really threatening. Back to back first round eliminations despite possessing the likes of Lou Williams and DeMar DeRozan were frustrating.

The following season saw them reach the Eastern Conference finals, only losing to the LeBron James led Cleveland Cavaliers. In order to truly make a title push, the Raptors made a series of trades that saw them acquire Serge Ibaka. But again it didn't prove to be enough as they lost in the conference semifinals for two consecutive years.

Toronto's roster underwent changes again in the summer of 2018 as they traded Jakob Poltl and DeRozan were traded to the San Antonio Spurs for Kawhi Leonard and Danny Green. There were question marks on the acquisition of Leonard as he was on such a short contract and was extremely injury prone. But it proved to be a majestic move as Kawhi and co. led the franchise to their first ever NBA Championship beating the likes of Milwaukee Bucks and eventually the Golden State Warriors in the finals.

Toronto Raptors Record - Last 10 Seasons

SeasonDivision FinishConference FinishRecordPlayoffs
2018-19 1st 2nd 58-24 Winners
2017-181st1st59-23Lost Conf Semifinals
2016-172nd3rd51-31Lost Conf Semifinals
2015-161st2nd56-26Lost Conf Finals
2014-151st4th49-33Lost First Round
2013-141st3rd48-34Lost First Round
Fetching more content...