Golden State Warriors


Full NameGolden State Warriors

Nick NameThe Dubs


GroundOracle Arena

Team Owner(s)Joe Lacob and Peter Guber

Prominent PlayersStephen Curry, Draymond Green, Klay Thompson, Andrew Wiggins, Kevon Looney, Jordan Poole


The Golden State Warriors are an American professional basketball team based in the San Francisco Bay area and compete in the NBA as a member of the league's Western Conference. Golden State Warriors play their Home games in Oracle Arena, Oakland.

Warriors History

The team was founded in 1946 as Philadelphia Warriors, based in Philadelphia. In 1971, the Warriors were renamed Golden State Warriors and have since been called the Dubs. The Warriors, along with the Chicago Bulls, are the third most successful team in the NBA, having won Six NBA Championships. Warriors won their first championship in 1947, a year after the establishment of the franchise. After winning the third championship in 1975, Warriors faced a trophy-drought till 2015. Golden State Warriors currently hold the record for best regular season winning 73 matches in 2016.

Some of the prominent players to have played for the Dubs include Wilt Chamberlain, Nate Thurmond, Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant etc. Golden State Warriors have retired Six Jersey nos for Wilt Chamberlain (13), Tom Meschery (14), Al Attles (16), Chris Mullin (17), Rick Barry (24) and Nate Thurmond (42).

Warriors in Recent Years

The Warriors were starting to pick up steam under head coach Mark Jackson with Curry leading the way. The front office decided to replace Mark with Steve Kerr and it paid dividends. With Draymond at the 5, the Golden State Warriors proved to the world that a small ball lineup can win you championships. Steph won his first MVP as well. This was just the beginning of the ‘Dubs Dynasty’.

The 2015-2016 Season was historic. They won 73 games, losing just 9, and eclipsed the previous 72-10 held by the iconic ‘96 Bulls. Steph won the first ever unanimous MVP but they would blow a 3-1 lead to the Cavaliers in the finals.

They bolstered their squad by adding Kevin Durant in the 2016 offseason. This made their team one of the best teams ever assembled. They had four all-stars on their team and the DPOY.

From 2015-2019, the Warriors reached the finals in five consecutive years, winning the championship thrice (2015, 2017, 2018). Although in the 2019 Finals, Klay and KD would get injured. After their loss to the Raptors, KD decided to move on to the Nets.

Steph injured his arm and sat out the whole 2019-2020 season. The Warriors endured a terrible season finishing at the bottom of the standings.

Curry came back for the 2020-2021 season and had an MVP calibre season but did not have much help. The Warriors finished with the 8th seed and did not make it through the Play-In Tournament. After two years of not making it to the playoffs and Steph’s not getting any younger, the Warriors made some moves that showed an intent to contend. They added important pieces and drafted well in the lottery.

Golden State Warriors Record - Last 10 Seasons

SeasonDivision FinishConference FinishRecordPlayoffs
2020-214th8th (Lost Play-In)39-33-
2018-191st1st57-25Lost NBA Finals
2017-181st2nd58-24Won NBA Finals
2016-171st1st67-15Won NBA Finals
2015-161st1st73-9Lost NBA Finals
2014-151st1st67-15Won NBA Finals
2013-142nd6th51-31Lost First Round
2012-132nd6th47-35Lost Conf Semifinals


The Golden State Warriors have won six NBA Championships. They won it in the following years: 1947, 1956, 1975, 2015, 2017, 2018. Some notable players during these championship runs were: Joe Fulks, Paul Arizin, Rick Barry, Steph Curry, Andre Iguodala, Kevin Durant, Draymond Green, and Klay Thompson. The coaches that were at the helm during these championships were: Eddie Gottlieb, George Senesky, Al Attles, and Steve Kerr.

Current Roster

Sl. No.PlayerPositionJersey No.
1Draymond GreenForward23
2Steph CurryCenter30
3Jordan PooleCenter3
4Otto Porter Jr.Guard32
5Kevon LooneyGuard5
6Klay ThompsonForward11
7Gary Payton IIGuard0
8James WisemanCenter33
9Jonathan KumingaForward00
10Moses MoodyGuard4
11Nemanja BjelicaGuard8
12Chris ChiozzaForward2
13Andrew WigginsCenter22
14Juan Toscano-AndersonGuard95
15Damion LeeGuard1
16Jeff DowtinForward-
17Andre IguodalaCenter9

Head Coach: Steve Kerr

Fetching more content...