BFI to host SABA Qualifying Round in Delhi


2012 NBA All-Star Game

New Delhi - The Basketball Federation of India (BFI) will host the South Asian Basketball Association (SABA) qualifying round for men at the Thyagraj Indoor Stadium here June 2-4.

SABA includes eight national federations – India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Afghanistan, the Maldives, Pakistan, and Bhutan. This qualifying round will witness India, Nepal and Afghanistan vying for a place at the FIBA Asia Championship to be held in Manila Aug 1-11.

The Indian squad: Loveneet Singh, Ranbir Singh Virdi, Vinay Kaushik, Basil Philip, Sambhaji P. Kadam, Joginder Singh, Narender Kumar Grewal, Rikin Pethani, Vishesh Bhriguvanshi, Yadwinder Singh, Amritpal Singh, Amjyot Singh.

The squad is coached by Scott Flemming, with Jora Singh and G.R.L. Prasad assisting him.

India will take on Nepal in the first match tomorrow while the latter plays Afghanistan on Monday. India will face Afghanistan in the final match on Tuesday.

Edited by Staff Editor
Article image

Go to article
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now