Favorites Edit

Draw held for 2015 FIBA Americas Women's Championship

Dinesh Thapa
2.11K   //    05 Mar 2015, 10:21 IST
The tournament will be held in Edmonton, Canada

The draw for the 2015 FIBA Americas Women's Championship was held at Edmonton, Canada; the host city of the championship yesterday.

Below is the draw result

Group A: Cuba, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Chile, Canada

Group B: Argentina, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, Ecuador, Brazil

The first phase of the tournament will be played in a round robin format with top two teams from each group advancing to the Semi-Finals. Group A winner will play Group B runners up while Group B winner will play Group A runners up in the semifinals. The winners of the Semi-Finals will battle for the title, while the losers will play the Third-Place Game.

The 2015 FIBA Americas Women's Championship will be held from 9 - 16 August at the Saville Community Sports Centre (SCSC), in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

The tournament is a qualifier for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. The winner of the championship will directly qualify to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Dinesh Thapa
Basketball, Football, Darts
Fetching more content...