5 most potent offenses in NBA history

Golden State Warriors v Oklahoma City Thunder
Golden State Warriors v Oklahoma City Thunder

In the history of the NBA, some offenses simply haven't been stoppable. Whether it was due to a talented roster of players, a skilled coach, or a revolutionary offensive system, these teams left their mark on the league and set new standards for offensive excellence.

From the flash of the Show Time Lakers to the innovation of the Seven Seconds or Less Suns, these offenses left an indelible mark on the league and set new standards for what was possible on the offensive end.

This article lists the top five offenses in the history of the NBA:

#1 The Showtime Lakers (1980s)

Led by Magic Johnson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the Lakers of the 1980s were known for their flashy and high-scoring offense. They dominated the league in the 1980s, winning five championships and consistently putting up big numbers on the offensive end.

#2 Michael Jordan's Chicago Bulls (1990s)

The Chicago Bulls of the 1990s were known for their unstoppable offense, driven by the dominance of Michael Jordan and the supporting cast of Scottie Pippen, Toni Kukoč, and Horace Grant.

The Bulls won six championships in eight years and set records for scoring and winning.

#3 The Run TMC Warriors (early 1990s)

The Golden State Warriors of the early 1990s were known for their high-scoring "Run TMC" offense, led by Tim Hardaway, Mitch Richmond, and Chris Mullin.

The Warriors consistently ranked among the league's top offenses, and the "Run TMC" era is still remembered as one of the most exciting offensive eras in NBA history.

#4 The Seven Seconds or Less Suns (2000s)

Under the direction of head coach Mike D'Antoni, the Phoenix Suns of the 2000s were known for their innovative "Seven Seconds or Less" offense.

The team, led by Steve Nash, Amar'e Stoudemire, and Shawn Marion, were known for their fast-paced, up-tempo style of play and their ability to score quickly and efficiently.

#5 The Warrior Death Lineup (late 2010s)

The Golden State Warriors from 2014 to 2019 were known for their unstoppable "Death Lineup." This consisted of a lineup of Andre Iguodala, Draymond Green, Steph Curry, Kevin Durant, and Klay Thompson.

The Warriors won three championships during that period. Despite losing Durant in 2019, Curry and Green won another NBA championship in 2022.

Quick Links

Edited by Kanav Seth
Be the first one to comment