New User posted their first comment

NBA: All-Time starting 5 Of the Milwaukee Bucks

Oscar Robertson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
Oscar Robertson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
Modified 06 Jan 2020
Top 5 / Top 10

The Milwaukee Bucks is one of the few teams in the NBA who have won a championship. The Bucks started as an expansion team in 1968 and they missed the playoffs in their inaugural season. However, everything changed the next season when they drafted a tall, skinny kid with an afro named Lew Alcindor.

Alcindor, who changed his name to Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, was the team’s first superstar. The Bucks became a super team when they acquired Oscar Robertson from the Cincinnati Royals the next season. With the great duo leading the team, the Bucks won their first and only NBA championship in 1971.

After the departure of Kareem, the Bucks were still a very good team throughout the 1980s as they never missed the playoffs during the decade. The team had great players such as Sidney Moncrief, Terry Cummings, and Bob Dandridge.

The Bucks had a slumping 1990s until the arrival of Ray Allen in 1996 but the team never duplicated their early success as a franchise. Nevertheless, the Bucks have produced a number of great players so here their all-time starting five. 

Forward – Marques Johnson

One of the players who picked up the team when Kareem Abdul-Jabbar left for Los Angeles, Marques Johnson led the Bucks to the playoffs six times. He spent seven seasons in Milwaukee wherein he was a four-time All-Star and an All-NBA First Team member in 1979.

Johnson also ranks sixth in the team’s all-time scoring list, third in rebounds, ninth in assists, sixth in steals, and ninth in blocks. But despite all the accolades he accomplished with the Bucks, Johnson remains unpopular with the team and fanbase. His #8 jersey has not been retired by the team and it is unknown why they have not done it.

Honorable Mention: Forward – Glenn Robinson

“Big Dog” Glenn Robinson is one of the main players for the Bucks in the 1990s. He was drafted first overall in 1994 and spent eight seasons in Milwaukee. He only led the Bucks to the playoffs three times but he remains one of the team’s best players ever. Robinson has scored the second most points in franchise history, while also ranking sixth in rebounds, seventh in steals, and fifth in three-points made.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 14 Jan 2019, 20:06 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now