⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Olympiacos Piraeus win the 2013 FIBA Intercontinental Cup

Dinesh Thapa
Published 23 Oct 2013, 11:01 IST
23 Oct 2013, 11:01 IST


Turkish Airlines FIBA Euroleague champion Olympiacos Piraeus lifted the title of the 2013 FIBA Intercontinental Cup after beating the FIBA Americas League winner Pinheiros Sky to take home the title after 17 years.

The two-game tournament, FIBA Intercontinental Cup is played between the winners of the FIBA Euroleague champion and  FIBA Americas League winner.

FIBA Euroleague champion Olympiacos Piraeus won both the matches to lift the trophy.

After winning the first match, FIBA Euroleague champion Olympiacos Piraeus won the second match 86 – 69 to lift the trophy for the European champions.

The European Champions have now won the cup 22 times while the FIBA American counterparts have won it 4 times.

Olympiacos won the first match of the cup 81 – 70.  Olympiacos Piraeus also won the second match 86 – 69, with Georgios Printezis netting 16 points for the winners, while Vangelis Mantzaris and Mirza Begic added 10 each for Olympiacos.

Shammel Stallworth scored 27 points for Pinheiros Sky, while Joe Smith netted 12 points for the FIBA Americas league champions.

The 2013 2013 FIBA Intercontinental Cup was held at Brazil.

Modified 19 Dec 2019, 23:09 IST
Fetching more content...