The worst players on the last 5 NBA championship teams

Yash Matange
Modified 03 Nov 2013
Top 5 / Top 10

Karl Malone, Reggie Miller, Patrick Ewing and John Stockton are few of many greats of the game who have never won a championship.

A two time league MVP and a 14 time All-Star, Karl Malone never won a NBA title in his 19 year playing career.

When you look back at their career and compare it to the certain players on the championship teams, it gets you thinking and wondering that this guy has a ring and these Hall of Famers don’t. Well there is nothing that can be done about it as all 15 members of the championship roster get a ring.

Each team has its bench warmer, who comes into the game only during blowouts. But this list contains those players who played minutes both in the regular season and playoffs, and were bought into rotation on an injury to a player.

This is a list of the worst players on the roster of the last 5 teams who won a championship.

5. P. J. Brown (2008 Boston Celtics)

P. J. Brown

Named to three NBA All-Defensive second teams and scored over 9000 points prior to the 2007-08 season, P.G. Brown signed with the Celtics mid-season. He averaged 11.6 minutes, 2.2 points, 3.8 rebounds and 0.6 assists per the regular season. Although his minutes on the floor were a great rest to the likes of Kevin Garnett or Paul Pierce, his contribution for the time on the floor was disappointing.

In the Playoffs, he played ahead of Scott Pollard and Brian Scalabrine to average 13.6 minutes, 2.9 points, 2.4 rebounds and 0.5 assists in 25 games. Post the championship, Brown retired after 16 year playing career.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 03 Nov 2013
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now