Ashes Man of The Match

The Ashes is the oldest Test rivalry between any two nations in cricket. England and Australia have been playing brilliant cricket to win the ‘Ashes urn’ since the year 1882. For the fans it is the most awaited tournament that is played with the longest format of the game.

Ashes Man of the Match 2019

Steve Smith has made a great comeback to his test career with centuries in both the innings which earned him a man of the match in the First Ashes Test. He literally frustrated the England bowlers with his immaculate stroke play. Ben Stokes claimed the man of the match in the second test for the his brilliant 115 in the second innings.

Find the Man of the Match for Ashes 2019 series below -

Sl. No.DateMan of the matchStatsTeam
1st TestAug 01Steve SmithInn 1 - 144 runs, Inn 2 - 142 runsAustralia
2nd TestAug 14Ben StokesInn 1 - 13 runs, Inn 2 - 115 runsEngland
3rd TestAug 22Ben StokesInn 1 - 8 runs, Inn 2 - 135 runsEngland
4th TestSep 04Steven SmithInn 1 - 211 runs, Inn 2 - 82 runsAustralia
5th TestSep 12Jofra ArcherInn 1 - 6 WicketsEngland

*Updated on 9 Sept 2019

England v Australia - 1st Specsavers Ashes Test: Day Five

Also see - Ashes Best bowling figures

List of Ashes Man of the Match Awards (Last 10 Ashes series) :

In such highly anticipated series, some players really stand out in each game to win games for their teams. They are awarded with the ‘Man of the Match’ award. The tradition of awarding the ‘Man of the Match’ in England vs Australia Test series began in the 1978/79 season in Australia.

Here is a list of players with most ‘Man of the Match’ awards in the last 10 Ashes series:

S. No.Man of the MatchNo. of timesTeam
1Steven Smith7Australia
2Ricky Ponting5Australia
3Mitchell Johnson4Australia
4Sir Alastair Cook3England
5Stuart Broad3England
6Andrew Flintoff3England
7Shane Warne3Australia
8Glenn McGrath2Australia
9Kevin Pietersen2England
10Joe Root2England
11Michael Clarke2Australia
12Adam Gilchrist1Australia
13Mark Butcher1England
14Matthew Hayden1Australia
15Damien Martyn1Australia
16Justin Langer1Australia
17Michael Vaughan1England
18Michael Hussey1Australia
19Stuart Clark1Australia
20Marcus North1Australia
21Jonathan Trott1England
22James Anderson1England
23Shane Watson1Australia
24Ryan Harris1Australia
25Steven Finn1England
26Shaun Marsh1Australia

England’s Derek Randall won the first award in the first Test of the series as England beat the Aussies by 7 wickets. Randall scored 75 off 196 balls in the first innings and an unbeaten 74 off 175 balls in the second innings.

In the last 10 years, Australia’s Steven Smith (6) has the most number of Man of the Match awards to his name in Ashes series. The next two with most such awards are also Australians, Ricky Ponting (5) and Mitchell Johnson (4). No Englishman has won it more than 3 times.

50 matches have been played in the last 10 Ashes series. The Man of the Match award has gone to an Australian 32 times while it has gone to an Englishman only 18 times.

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now