Favorites Edit

From the archives: Highest Wicket Taker from each team in IPL 2010

Top 5 / Top 10
2.08K   //    Timeless

CSK won their 1st title in 2010
CSK won their 1st title in 2010

The third edition of the Indian Premier League came back to India after being shifted to South Africa due to general elections in 2009.

The tournament commenced on 12th March 2010 in Mumbai with the final being played on 25th of April 2010 at the same venue. The old guns dominated the format yet again with a couple of youngsters stepping up their game.

Mumbai Indians dominated the Round Robin stage winning ten out of the fourteen games with Deccan Chargers finishing second on the points table. Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore were positioned at 3 and 4 respectively, with 14 points each.

The round robin was very competitive and it came down to the Net Run Rate as four teams finished with the same points. Mumbai and Chennai made it to the finals of the tournament with Chennai defeating the home team at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. The semis and the final of the tournament were screened in 3D format across theaters in India to show the perfect mix of cinematic experience with sporting thrill.

There were some impressive bowling performances from each team and here we are looking at the highest wicket-taker from each team in the third edition of the Indian Premier League:

#1 Deccan Chargers- Pragyan Ojha (21 Wickets)

Pragyan Ojha won the Purple Cap in that edition of the tournament
Pragyan Ojha won the Purple Cap in that edition of the tournament

Pragyan Ojha represented Deccan Chargers in the first four editions of the Indian Premier League and finished as the best bowler to have represented the team having picked up 60 wickets in 54 matches.

However, his best season was in 2010 when he went on to win the ‘Purple Cap’ for being the highest wicket-taker in the tournament. In 16 matches, he claimed 21 wickets at an impressive average of 20.42 and played a key role in taking his team to the knockout stage.

His best figures came in the match against Mumbai Indians where he got 3 wickets for just 26 runs in his quota of four overs. He was very consistent throughout the tournament and picked up some important wickets at key junctures for his team. His bowling strike rate of 16.80 vouches for the impact he had in that tournament.

1 / 8 NEXT