Write & Earn

IPL 2017: Highest run scorers, wicket-takers after Delhi Daredevils vs Gujarat Lions

Leading run scorers (orange cap) and wicket takers (purple cap) after Delhi Daredevils vs Gujarat Lions.

Rishabh Pant DD GL IPL 2017
Rishabh Pant’s 97 led the way for Delhi Daredevils against the Gujarat Lions in their IPL clash

The Delhi Daredevils took on the Gujarat Lions in a mid-table clash yesterday when both the teams required a win to keep their playoff chances alive. The match turned out to be a feast for the batsmen as 422 runs were scored overall and the total number of sixes went up to a gargantuan 31. However, the toughest job today was not of the bowlers, but of the man who would have to choose shots for the highlights reel of this match! 

The entire game, particularly the second innings, was laden with hotshots and thumping boundaries. Rishabh Pant played so well for his 97 that he ended up getting a tweet of appreciation from Sachin Tendulkar himself. Sanju Samson played the second fiddle beautifully while scoring a masterful 61 at the other end. After the early dismissal of captain Karun Nair, the Samson-Pant pair concocted a fervent partnership of 143 that made a mockery of the target of 209 runs.

There was no fear, no doubt and no inhibitions. One batsman at 22 years of age and another at 19, structured a beautiful chase for the team that has an average age of 26 years – if this isn’t the story of the season, what is?

The Delhi Daredevils chased the massive target in just 17.3 overs as none of the Gujarat bowlers could stop their blazing onslaught. Shreyas Iyer and Corey Anderson did not allow more hiccups after Samson and Pant were finally back in the hut while ensuring a smooth win. 

Let us look at the leading run scorers and wicket takers after the match – 

Leading run scorers 

PositionPlayerMatchesInningsRunsAverageStrike Rate100s50sHighest
1David Warner
2Gautam Gambhir
3Suresh Raina
4Robin Uthappa
5Sanju Samson
6Shikhar Dhawan
7Rahul Tripathi
8Manish Pandey
9Steve Smith
10Brendon McCullum

Leading wicket takers:

PositionPlayerMatchesWicketsOversRuns5 WicketsEconomyBest Figures
1Bhuvneshwar Kumar
10214026516.625 for 19
2Imran Tahir
11174334508.023 for 18
3Mitchell McClenaghan
10154036309.073 for 24
4Chris Woakes
11143632709.083 for 6 
5Andrew Tye
6122114116.715 for 17
6Jaydev Unadkat
71226.520807.753 for 29
7Rashid Khan
10124027306.823 for 19
8Jasprit Bumrah
10124032108.023 for 24
9Chris Morris
9123124007.744 for 26
10Nathan Coulter-Nile
61121.219309.053 for 21

While the two SRH players have kept their first positions constant, many changes are taking place after David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s names in the orange and purple cap races respectively. Samson’s 61 today has propelled him to the 5th position in the leading run-scorers list, thereby placing him with the likes of Warner, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Robin Uthappa and Shikhar Dhawan. The 22-year-old can now say that he is now going to toe to toe with international stars! 

Meanwhile, Andrew Tye’s absence hit the Gujarat Lions starkly today and the absence of any other GL bowler in the top 10 wicket-takers of the tournament proves why DD clobbered them all over the park today. Chris Morris fell to 9th as he missed out today due to an injury. 

Let’s look at the points table now. 


PositionTeamPlayedWonLostNo ResultNet Run RatePointsLast ResultNext Opponent
1 Mumbai Indians108200.42716Beat RCB by 5 wicketsDD
2 Kolkata Knight Riders117400.72514Lost to RPS by 4 wicketsRCB
3 Rising Pune Supergiant11740-0.12314Beat KKR by 4 wicketsSRH
4 Sunrisers Hyderabad116410.65913Lost to DD by 6 wicketsRPS
5 Kings XI Punjab94500.2288Beat DD by 10 wicketsRCB
6 Delhi Daredevils104600.038Beat GL by 7 wicketsMI
7 Gujarat Lions11380-0.4336Lost to DD by 7 wicketsKXIP
8 Royal Challengers Bangalore11281-1.4415Lost to MI 5 wicketsKXIP
Fetching more content...