IPL 2019, Match 51, MI vs SRH: Match preview and key stats

Kane Williamson and Rohit Sharma (image credit:
Kane Williamson and Rohit Sharma (image credit:
Modified 02 May 2019

The 51st match of IPL 2019 will be played on 2nd May at 8 PM IST between the Mumbai Indians and the Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

MI have won seven matches and lost five and are at the third position on the IPL points table. On the other hand, SRH are at fourth position, having won six games and lost six.

Ahead of their meeting tomorrow, let's take a look at the head-to-head stats between the two franchises and the probable playing XIs for the match.

Head-to-head record

The MI vs SRH rivalry has seen 13 matches being played so far. MI have won 6 of those games, while SRH have managed to win 7. Overall, MI have won the title thrice while SRH have won it only once.

This is the second encounter between these two teams in this season, with MI winning the first one by 40 runs.

Probable XI

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

MI are likely to stick with the same team which lost to KKR on Sunday. The performance of MI openers has been pretty ordinary this season and the management will expect Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock to find some sort of form and give the team a solid start.

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Barinder Sran, Rahul Chahar, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Martin Guptill
Martin Guptill

The only change expected is in the opener position where Martin Guptill will take over the opening duties from David Warner.


Probable XI: Wriddhiman Saha, Martin Guptill, Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Nabi, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(C), Quinton de Kock, Ishan Kishan, Evin Lewis, Adam Milne, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Siddhesh Lad, Rahul Chahar, Ben Cutting, Mayank Markande, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jason Behrendorff, Yuvraj Singh, Aditya Tare, Anukul Roy, Suryakumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Rasikh Salam, Barinder Sran, Pankaj Jaiswal.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (C), Rashid Khan, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi, Martin Guptill, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, David Warner, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jonny Bairstow, Billy Stanlake, Deepak Hooda, Ricky Bhui, Shakib Al Hasan, Shreevats Goswami, Basil Thampi, Sandeep Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddarth Kaul, T Natarajan, Shahbaz Nadeem.

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on 2019 orange cap, points table, schedule, news, live scores, purple cap and fantasy tips.

Published 02 May 2019, 09:00 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now