IPL Auction 2020: 3 released players who impressed in Abu Dhabi T10 League 

Chris Lynn ruled T10 League 2019
Chris Lynn ruled T10 League 2019

The IPL Auction for the 2020 edition of the league is just a few weeks away and all the teams would have kick-started their groundwork for the same. All the franchises monitor the other T20 leagues of the world and, often the fans have seen how the overseas T20 stars earn big-fat contracts in the IPL.

The most recent short-format league that concluded near the auction was the Abu Dhabi T10 League. A lot of big names like Yuvraj Singh, Shane Watson, Andre Russell, Zaheer Khan, Eoin Morgan took part in the tournament. The deadline for the trade window and retention lists coincided with this tourney and hence, the franchises would have observed how the released and retained cricketers played.

While a bunch of retained players shone in the league, there were a few players whom the franchises dropped from their squads and they lit up the T10 League. Here’s a look at the three released players who impressed in the tournament played in Abu Dhabi.

Also see – World Test Championship points table

#3 Chris Lynn

Chris Lynn won the 'Best Batsman' award
Chris Lynn won the 'Best Batsman' award

Matches - 8, Runs - 371, Highest Score - 91*, Strike Rate - 236.30

The Australian opener, Chris Lynn, played a vital role in the success that his team, Maratha Arabians achieved in T10 League. His 371 runs guided the Arabians to the championship while he also won the award for the 'Best Batsman of the Tournament'.

Lynn featured in all the eight matches for the Maratha franchise, scoring runs at an average of 53.00. He scored four fifties in the tourney besides hitting 29 fours and 31 sixes. His IPL franchise, Kolkata Knight Riders, have released him before the auction and as pointed out by Yuvraj Singh, the team management of KKR have committed a huge mistake.

Also Read - Abu Dhabi T10 League 2019: 5 batsmen who scored the most runs

It is not that the Aussie had under-performed in the IPL. He had scored 405 runs in the previous IPL season hence, it is difficult to understand why the Dinesh Karthik-led franchise let him go.

1 / 3 NEXT
Edited by S Chowdhury
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now