IPL History: 5 Indian legends who never won an IPL trophy 

Virender Sehwag and Rahul Dravid (Image courtesy - IPLT20/BCCI)
Virender Sehwag and Rahul Dravid (Image courtesy - IPLT20/BCCI)

The BCCI initiated the revolutionary Indian Premier League after a young Indian team led by MS Dhoni captured the first ever ICC T20 World Cup in South Africa. This historic win forced the BCCI to take the shortest format of the game seriously and today India is home to the most watched T20 league on the planet.

T20 cricket has always been believed to be the youth's game as the format demands a huge level of fitness and also fearlessness. A lot of senior international cricketers have tried their luck in this format. While some have been very successful, the others failed sadistically.

Also Read - IPL History: 10 international stars who played only one match in their IPL career

In this article, we will have a look at those 5 legendary Indian cricket stars who could never win an IPL trophy in their careers:

#5 Zaheer Khan

Zaheer Khan played 10 IPL seasons (Image courtesy - IPLT20/BCCI)
Zaheer Khan played 10 IPL seasons (Image courtesy - IPLT20/BCCI)

India's most prolific left-arm fast bowler, Zaheer Khan played 10 IPL seasons for 3 different franchises but unfortunately, he never won an IPL championship as a player. He started his IPL journey as a part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2008 but moved to the Mumbai Indians the following year. His team never made it to the playoffs till 2010 before he once again switched back to RCB in 2011.

Also Read - 9 Indian players who have played for both Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore

Though RCB did not win the cup, they reached the final once. Khan returned to Mumbai in 2014 but the Mumbai franchise failed to repeat their 2013 success. Delhi snapped up Zaheer next and the capital city franchise was Zaheer's last ever franchise. Khan was assigned the captaincy of his team but to everyone's disappointment, he could not inspire his team to glory.

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on Cricket World Cup 2019, schedule, news, points table, live score, most runs, most wickets and fantasy tips.

1 / 5 NEXT
Edited by Debjyoti Samanta
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now