Favorites Edit

Japan, Chile announce squads for U-17 World Cup

34   //    24 Sep 2017, 17:35 IST

New Delhi, Sep 24 (PTI) Japan and Chile have announced their squads for the FIFA U-17 World Cup, to be held in India from October 6 to 28.

Asian powerhouse Japan will be featuring in their eighth U-17 World Cup, having reached the quarter-finals on two occasions.

Japan shone on their global debut in 1993 where they reached the last-eight as hosts.

The upcoming tournament will be Chile's fourth appearance at a FIFA U-17 World Cup and their second in a row after hosting the tournament in 2015.

Their tournament debut came at Japan 1993, where they finished third, their best performance to date. The Chileans reached the last 16 on home soil two years ago.

Japan are clubbed in Group E alongside France, New Caledonia and Honduras, against whom they open their campaign on October 8.

Chile feature in Group F along with England, Mexico and Iraq.

Japan squad:

Goalkeepers: Umeda Togo, Tani Kosei, Suzuki Zion

Defenders: Nobuki Iketaka, Takumu Kemmotsu, Yukinari Sugawara, Yuki Kobayashi, Taichi Yamasaki, Seiya Baba

Midfielders: Kohei Okuno, Rei Hirakawa, Toichi Suzuki, Naoki Tsubaki, Shimpei Fukuoka, Hinata Kida, Soichiro Kozuki

Forwards: Hiroto Yamada, Taisei Miyashiro, Keito Nakamura, Takefusa Kubo, Koki Saito

Chile squad:

Goalkeepers: Julio B

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...