Favorites Edit

2017 NASCAR playoffs: Round of 12 standings, rules, schedule

98   //    02 Oct 2017, 08:25 IST
Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin
Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin

After three playoff races, 12 drivers remain in the running for the 2017 championship lead by Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Busch.

Truex, who held a 20-point lead over Kyle Larson to begin the postseason, won the first playoff race at Chicagoland with Busch earning back-to-back wins at New Hampshire and Sunday at Dover. 

Dover was the site of the third and final race in the Round of 16, with the four drivers lowest in the standings eliminated from the postseason. Ryan Newman, Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne and Austin Dillon failed to advance to championship contention leaving Jamie McMurray with the most work to do to as the Round of 12 begins next Sunday at Charlotte Motor Speedway. 

2017 NASCAR playoffs Round of 12 standings

1. Martin Truex Jr.: 3,059 points
2. Kyle Busch: 3,041 points
3. Kyle Larson: 3,034 points
4. Brad Keselowski: 3,020 points
5. Jimmie Johnson: 3,017 points
6. Kevin Harvick: 3,015 points
7. Denny Hamlin: 3,013 points
8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.: 3,010 points
9. Ryan Blaney: 3,008 points
10. Chase Elliott: 3,006 points
11. Matt Kenseth: 3,005 points
12. Jamie McMurray: 3,003 points

2017 NASCAR playoff rules

"Win and you're in." Just like regular-season races, winners move on to the next round. The remaining seven playoff events will feature stage racing, with playoff bonus points up for grabs that drivers can take to the next round.

Points are reset before the Round of 12 and Round of 8. The Championship 4 drivers will race straight up at Homestead-Miami Speedway for the title.

After three playoff races (Oct. 22 at Kansas), four drivers will be eliminated from the playoffs based on points, then again at Phoenix November 12 until four drivers remain. 

2017 NASCAR playoff schedule

Oct. 8 — Round of 12 begins at Charlotte (2 p.m. ET, NBC)

Oct. 15 — Talladega (2 p.m. ET, NBC)

Oct. 22 — Kansas (cutoff race, 3 p.m. ET, NBCSN)

Oct. 29 — Round of 8 begins at Martinsville (3 p.m. ET, NBCSN)

Nov. 5 — Texas (2 p.m. ET, NBCSN)

Nov. 12 — Phoenix (cutoff race, 2:30 p.m. ET, NBC)

Nov. 19 — Championship 4 at Homestead (2:30 p.m. ET, NBC)

Fetching more content...