Favorites Edit

Oklahoma's Murray wins the Heisman Trophy

12   //    09 Dec 2018, 08:47 IST
Kyler Murray

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray is the 2018 Heisman Trophy winner.

Murray finished the season with 4,053 passing yards with 40 touchdowns and seven interceptions. He also rushed for 892 yards and 11 touchdowns. Murray also won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's best quarterback.

He was taken in the first round of the MLB Draft last season. If he makes it to the major leagues, he will join Bo Jackson and Vic Janowicz as the only Heisman winners to play in MLB.

Murray was the first player in FBS history to enter the bowl season averaging at least 300 passing yards and 60 rushing yards. He also tallied the most 300-yard passing, 60-yard rushing games (6) since the 1996 season. In his efforts, he broke Baker Mayfield's single-season FBS total yardage record of 4,945 yards – and he did it in one less game than Mayfield.

He is the sixth Sooner to win the Heisman Trophy and fourth quarterback to win it since the year 2000 (Jason White, Sam Bradford and Mayfield). Oklahoma are now second all time with a total of six Heisman winners.

Murray finished with 517 first-place votes while Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa had 299. Ohio State's Dwayne Haskins had 46. Murray won the vote with 2,167 points. Tagovailoa was second with 1,871.

Tagovailoa finished the year with 3,353 passing yards with 37 touchdowns and just four picks. He also rushed for 190 yards and five touchdowns. Tagovailoa won the Maxwell Award for the nation's best all-round player.

The sophomore threw 26 passing touchdowns this season before having a pass picked off. He completed 60 per cent of his passes for more than 20 yards, which was the best in the FBS.


Murray and Tagovailoa will face off in the College Football Playoff semifinals at the Orange Bowl on December 29. The winner will face whoever comes out victorious between Clemson and Notre Dame in the other semifinal.

Haskins finished the year with 4,580 passing yards with 47 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He also rushed for 122 yards and four scores. Haskins threw five touchdown passes in five separate games this season – that is the most five-passing touchdown games by a quarterback in Big Ten history. Haskins has been the Buckeyes starter for one year.

Fetching more content...