The Authority

The Authority WWE

Full NameThe Authority

Nick NameTeam Authority

Founded18 August 2013

Team Owner(s)Triple H and Stephanie McMahon

Prominent PlayersRandy Orton, Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins, Kane, Billy Gunn, Road Dogg, Batista, Joey Mercury, Jamie Noble, Big Show


The Authority was founded in 2013, with Triple H backing Bryan's rise against Cena at SummerSlam and helping him win his first WWE Championship, only to be betray Bryan. Bryan was then defeated Randy Orton who eventually won the championship.

  1. Team Authority's Notable Feuds
  2. End of The Authority
  3. The Authority Members
  4. The Authority's Championships and Accomplishments

The Authority WWE

Team Authority's Notable Feuds

Daniel Bryan

After being betrayed by Triple H, Bryan invoked his rematch at Night of Champions. Karma served the Authority well as Bryan regained the title thanks to a fast count from referee Scott Armstrong. But again as it happens in the world, Triple H used this as justification to strip Bryan of the championship. Orton and Bryan contested for the title once again, with the match being labeled a No Contest following the interference of the Big Show, under orders from Stephanie McMahon.

The third match between the two took place at Hell in a Cell, with Shawn Michaels as Bryan's mentor and the special guest referee. Once again, Bryan was double crossed, Michaels attacked Daniel with a Superkick and Orton won the title.

Daniel Bryan, frustrated, challenged Triple H a match, with the winner being added to the main event championship match of WrestleMania XXX with Randy Orton and Batista. Triple H accepted Bryan's challenge and was defeated by Bryan ,an at WrestleMania Bryan defeated Triple H and won the WWE World Heavyweight Championship on the grandest stage of them all. But eventually Bryan was was forced to vacate the title, ending his rivalry with the Authority for the time being following a neck injury at an extremes rules match against the Kane.

Rhodes Family

Cody Rhodes dared to speak against the villainous Authority and was forced into a match against Randy Orton. Not only did Cody lose the match but his job as well. Cody's brother Goldust faced Orton to attempt to get Cody's job back but failed. Their father, Dusty Rhodes, was knocked out by the Big Show when he attempted to reason with Triple H and get his son's jobs back.

The Rhodes Brothers however defeated Seth Rollins and Roman Reigns in a non title match up and earned themselves a shot at the Shield's Tag Team Championships. In October, they won the Tag Team Championship, thanks to help from the Big Show.

John Cena

After defeating Alberto Del Rio for the World Heavyweight Championship, John Cena challenges Randy Orton, the current WWE Champion, for the tile of "Champion of Champions". But Cena lost to Orton in the match. Cena then invoked his rematch against Orton at the Royal Rumble to try and gain the new unified title. But once again due to the Wyatt Family, who targeted John because of his position as a role model to many WWE fans, Cena lost the unified title once again.

But soon the WWE World Heavyweight Championship, was left vacant due to Daniel Bryan being injured. Cena defeated Randy Orton and four other men in a MITB ladder match for the titles. Triple H unleashed his "Plan C," Brock Lesnar. At SummerSlam, Cena suffered an extremely one sided defeat at the hands of the Beast Incarnate, losing the WWE Championship once again.

The Shield

The Shield were originally recruited by the Authority. Their job was to attack any and all who opposed Triple H and Stephanie McMahon. However soon the two teams found themselves at each other's throat. Triple H reformed the Evolution with Orton and Batista to deal with the Shield. At both Extreme Rules and Payback, the Shield defeated Evolution, marking the peak of their career. But Seth Rollins joined the Authority and thus dissolved the Shield, and go on to win the Money in the Bank contract.

End of The Authority

At the match between Team Cena and The Authority, Sting came and Scorpion Death Drop Triple H and puts Ziggler on top of Seth Rollins. Ziggler won for Team Cena, and The Authority lost power.

The Authority had a brief return in 2018 but was finally disbanded on April 8, 2018.

The Authority Members

Triple H(Co-leader)August 18, 2013April 8, 2018
Stephanie McMahon(Co-leader)August 18, 2013April 8, 2018
Mr. McMahon(Co-leader)December 14, 2015April 4, 2016
Randy OrtonAugust 18, 2013,Rejoined- February 23, 2015November 3, 2014 and March 9, 2015
Dean AmbroseAugust 19, 2013March 17, 2014
Roman ReignsAugust 19, 2013March 17, 2014
Seth RollinsAugust 19, 2013,Rejoined- June 2, 2014March 17, 2014 and November 5, 2015
KaneOctober 28, 2013October 25, 2015
Billy GunnJanuary 13, 2014April 6, 2014
Road DoggJanuary 13, 2014April 6, 2014
BatistaApril 7, 2014June 2, 2014
Joey MercurySeptember 19, 2014July 6, 2015
Jamie NobleSeptember 19, 2014July 6, 2015
Big ShowNovember 23, 2014April 26, 2015

Wrestlers Associated with The Authority, but never officially joined

  1. Brock Lesnar
  2. Paul Heyman
  3. The Wyatt Family (Bray Wyatt, Luke Harper, Erick Rowan, and Braun Strowman)
  4. John Stewart
  5. Brad Maddox
  6. The League of Nations (Sheamus, Rusev, King Barrett, and Alberto Del Rio)

The Authority's Championships and Accomplishments

Pro Wrestling Illustrated

  1. Feud of the Year (2013) – The Authority vs. Daniel Bryan
  2. Feud of the Year (2014) – Seth Rollins vs. Dean Ambrose
  3. Most Hated Wrestler of the Year (2013) – The Authority
  4. Most Hated Wrestler of the Year (2014) – Triple H and Stephanie McMahon
  5. Most Hated Wrestler of the Year (2015) – Seth Rollins
  6. Tag Team of the Year (2013) – The Shield -Roman Reigns and Seth Rollins
  7. Wrestler of the Year (2015) – Seth Rollins
  8. Ranked Seth Rollins No. 1 of the top 500 singles wrestlers in the PWI 500 in 2015

The Authority in WWE

  1. World Heavyweight Championship (1 time) – Randy Orton
  2. WWE Tag Team Championship (2 times) – The Shield (Roman Reigns and Seth Rollins), The New Age Outlaws (Billy Gunn and Road Dogg)
  3. WWE United States Championship (2 times) – Dean Ambrose (1), Seth Rollins (1)
  4. WWE World Heavyweight Championships (4 times) – Randy Orton (2), Triple H (1), Seth Rollins (1)
  5. André the Giant Memorial Trophy (2015) – Big Show
  6. Royal Rumble (2016) – Triple H
  7. Money in the Bank (2014) – Seth Rollins
  8. Vincent J. McMahon Legacy of Excellence Award (2016) – Stephanie McMahon
  9. Slammy Awards (9 times)
  10. Breakout Star of the Year (2013) – The Shield (Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns and Seth Rollins)
  11. Faction of the Year (2013) – The Shield
  12. Fan Participation (2014) – Seth Rollins for "You Sold Out”
  13. Insult of the Year (2013) – Stephanie McMahon for insulting Big Show
  14. Match of the Year (2014) – Team Cena vs. Team Authority at Survivor Series
  15. Rivalry of the Year (2014) vs. Daniel Bryan
  16. Superstar of the Year (2015) – Seth Rollins
  17. Trending Now Hashtag of the Year (2013) – The Shield for #BelieveInTheShield
  18. "What a Maneuver" of the Year (2013) – Roman Reigns for the spear[84]

Wrestling Observer Newsletter

  1. Best Booker (2015) – Triple H (with Ryan Ward)
  2. Most Improved (2013) – Roman Reigns
  3. Most Overrated (2013) – Randy Orton
  4. Most Overrated (2014) – Kane
  5. Tag Team of the Year (2013) – The Shield (Roman Reigns and Seth Rollins)
  6. Worst Feud of the Year (2013) – vs. Big Show

Fetching more content...