Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

5 retired players who never won the NBA title

Yash Matange
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 19 Dec 2019, 22:54 IST

The Larry O’Brien trophy is the sole thing player’s aim to hold their entire playing career no matter how many they have already held it. Some are fortunate to get repeated chances to capture their titles, and then there are others who have never been fortunate enough despite their talent and skill to hold the trophy.

The players included would be of an era, I as NBA fan, have heard off and seen (there’s one exception).

On what basis you ask?

Career stats and achievements!

Honorary Mention:-

Patrick Ewing:- A 11-time all-star Ewing was drafted by the New York Knicks as the first overall pick in the 1985 NBA Draft. He led the Knicks to numerous runs at the Finals in the 90’s but we all knew who ruled the NBA during the 90’s. He finally made it to the 1999 NBA finals only to swept by the San Antonio Spurs.

A member of the 1992 Dream team and Rookie of the Year in 1986 Ewing’s achievements and feats are overshadowed by the fact that he could never mange to win a ring.

Let’s start with the 5 now:-

5. Reggie Miller (Indiana Pacers):-


A 5 time All-Star, Reggie Miller was drafted by the Indiana Pacers in the 1987 NBA Draft as the 11th pick in the first round ahead of more popular pick of Indiana native Steve Alford.

Miller established himself as Pacers primary offensive threat in 1992 when Chuck Person was traded. He became a household name in the Eastern Conference Finals against the New York Knicks, credit to a phenomenal performance in Game 5 where he scored 39 to lead the Pacers to victory at the Garden.

The following year he gave the world the honor of witnessing another spectacle. He scored 8 points in 8.9 seconds in game 1 of the semifinals series with the Knicks. Pacers would eventually lose to the Orlando Magic in the Conference finals after beating the Knicks in 7 games.

After missing the Playoffs in 1997, the Pacers returned to the Conference Finals only to meet the Reigning double world champions The Chicago Bulls. They took the series to seven games and led in the final minutes of the fourth quarter but faded only to lose once again in the Conference Finals.

In the post season of 1999-2000 the Pacers made the Conference Finals for the fifth time in seven years where they finally beat the Knicks in 6 games to reach their first NBA finals.

Averaging 24.3 points for the Finals series Reggie Miller saw his dream to lift the trophy being shattered by the Shaquille O’Neal and Los Angeles Lakers.

Known for his Clutch performances and Reggie Miller lead the league in all time three point field goals made and is one of among 6 players ever to be part of the 50-40-90 group.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 02 Oct 2013, 17:45 IST
Fetching more content...