NBA History: 5 Players with the most individual honors 

Michael Jordan
Michael Jordan

The NBA has been blessed with some of the best athletes over the years. There have been players who became larger than life figures.

Starting right from the days of Bill Russell, there have been many legends who've graced the NBA. Russell won 11 championships in 13 years with the Celtics, Wilt Chamberlain scored 100 points in a game and averaged 50 points per game for an entire season. Oscar Robertson averaged a triple-double for a season. Magic Johnson and Larry Bird had a rivalry for the ages. Jordan, Kobe, and LeBron have all made a massive impact on the lives of people.

Michael Jordan is arguably the greatest player in the history of the NBA and perhaps in all of sports. He won six out of six NBA Finals with the Bulls and never even needed to play in Game 7 of any of these series. LeBron James reached 8 consecutive finals between 2011-2018 and is one of the greatest ambassadors of the game.

Let's have a look at the players with the most individual honors in NBA history.

Individual honors considered: Regular season MVP, Finals MVP, DPOY, ROTY, All-Star MVP.

#5 Magic Johnson - 8 honors

Magic Johnson (right)
Magic Johnson (right)

Magic Johnson is the greatest point guard in the history of the NBA. Only Stephen Curry comes close to him when it comes to conversations about the greatest point guards.

Magic Johnson was a 6'9'' point guard and absolutely dominated on both ends. He won the Finals MVP in his rookie year when he had to play as a center in the NBA Finals for the Lakers.

Johnson has 3 MVPs, 3 Finals MVPs, and 2 All-Star MVPs to his name. His career came to an abrupt end because of medical ailments but he still remains one of the most decorated NBA players of all time.

#4 Shaquille O'Neal - 8 honors

Shaquille O'Neal was very dominant
Shaquille O'Neal was very dominant

Shaquille O'Neal is considered the most dominating player in the history of the NBA. He was as powerful a player as any in the NBA. There was no stopping Shaq when he was at the peak of his powers.

Shaq won the threepeat at the start of the century with the Lakers. He was easily the best player on that Lakers roster despite the presence of a young and energetic Kobe Bryant.

Shaq won 3 Finals MVPs, 3 All-Star MVPs, 1 regular season MVP award and the Rookie of the Year award. He is the part of the best playoff run in NBA history when the Lakers went 15-1 in the postseason. He started dominating right from his rookie year. His rookie averages were just mind-boggling. He averaged 23.4 points, 14 rebounds and 3.5 blocks per game in his rookie year.

#3 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar - 9 honors

Los Angeles Lakers' Kareem Abdul Jabbar in action
Los Angeles Lakers' Kareem Abdul Jabbar in action

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar is one of the most iconic players in NBA history. Kareem started his season for the Milwaukee Bucks but moved on to join the Lakers. He formed the best 1-and-5 tandem in league history with Magic Johnson.

Kareem also had the most ruthless offensive move in the NBA history in the form of his sky hook. Kareem's sky hook was unbeatable and the defenses never found a way to control that. Kareem is also the player with the most points scored in NBA history. He was a scoring machine for both the Bucks and the Lakers.

Kareem has won the most regular season MVPs - 6. He also won 2 Finals MVPs and the Rookie of the Year award. Kareem was a dominant force right from the start of his career and his longevity was also amazing.

#2 LeBron James - 11 honors

LeBron James
LeBron James

LeBron James was a special player even before he stepped foot in the NBA. He is the most hyped first pick in the NBA history and he did full justice to the hype.

LeBron totally dominated the NBA for more than a decade. He reached 8 consecutive NBA finals from 2011 to 2018. He won his first title with the Miami Heat in 2012 and then went back to back in the following year. LeBron returned to Cleveland in the 2014-15 season and won the title for the Cavs in the historic 2016 NBA finals when they came from 3-1 down to beat the defending champions Golden State Warriors.

LeBron has won 4 regular season MVPs, 3 Finals MVPs, 3 All-Star MVPs and the Rookie of the Year award in 2003. He currently plays for the Los Angeles Lakers and will be looking to add to his list of accolades.

#1 Michael Jordan - 16 honors

Michael Jordan #23 playing for the Chicago Bulls
Michael Jordan #23 playing for the Chicago Bulls

Michael Jordan is the greatest player in the history of NBA. He won six NBA championships for the Chicago Bulls and went six out of six in the NBA finals.

Jordan was drafted as the third overall pick in the 1983 NBA draft by the Chicago Bulls. He averaged 28 points per game in his rookie year and went on to win the Rookie of the Year award. He threepeated twice with the Bulls, winning the title between 1991-1993 and then again between 1996-1998.

Jordan is also one of only two players in NBA history with a regular season MVP, FMVP and a Defensive Player of the year award. Overall, Jordan won 5 regular season MVPs, 6 Finals MVPs, 1 DPOY, ROTY and 3 All-Star MVPs.

Michael Jordan still remains the man standing at the pinnacle of the NBA.

Quick Links

Edited by Raunak J
Be the first one to comment