Favorites Edit

IPL 2015 auction: Full details

49.66K   //    16 Feb 2015, 19:46 IST
Yuvraj Singh was once again the most expensive purchase at the IPL auction

The 2015 Indian Premier League (IPL) auction was held in Bengaluru on Monday. Just like last year, Yuvraj Singh turned out to be the most expensive buy with the Delhi Daredevils acquiring him for a whopping Rs. 16 crores. Apart from Yuvraj, the franchise bought 13 other players that include the likes of Angelo Mathews and Zaheer Khan.

Defending IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders sprung a huge surprise by spending Rs. 2.4 crores on the little-known KC Cariappa. The franchise brought a total of 8 players that included veteran spinner Brad Hogg, New Zealand all-rounder James Neesham and a handful of Indian domestic cricketers.  

Michael Hussey, who spent one season at the Mumbai Indians, returns to the Chennai Super Kings for Rs. 1.5 crores. The two-time IPL champions bought a total of 8 players that include the likes of Indian cricketers Rahul Sharma and Irfan Pathan.

The finalists of IPL 2014, the Kings XI Punjab, had a quiet time at the auction this time around, purchasing just 3 Indian players – Murali Vijay, wicket-keeper Nikhil Shankar Naik and all-rounder Yogesh Gowalkar.

Mumbai Indians’ most expensive buy turned out to be Australian opener Aaron Finch, who was bought for Rs. 3.2 crores. Out of the remaining 9 players that they purchased, 6 were Indians, including Test cricketers Pragyan Ojha and Abhimanyu Mithun.

Rajasthan Royals, once again, opted not to shell out a heavy sum on any player and bought a total of 6 players at low prices. South African all-rounder Chris Morris turned out to be their most expensive buy for Rs. 1.4 crores.

Dinesh Karthik turned out to be the second most expensive buy for the second year in a row after he was bought by the Royal Challengers Bangalore for a sum of Rs. 10.5 crores. The Bengaluru-based team also acquired the services of West Indian all-rounder Darren Sammy, Australian all-rounder Sean Abbott, New Zealand paceman Adam Milne, among others.

Sunrisers Hyderabad brought a total of 10 players – international superstars like former England batsman Kevin Pietersen, current England captain Eoin Morgan, New Zealand mainstay Kane Williamson etc. were bought by the Sun Group-owned franchise. But their most expensive buy was Kiwi pacer Trent Boult for Rs. 3.8 crores.

Here’s a full list of players bought by each franchise.

Chennai Super Kings

Player Name Amount Paid (in Rs.) Role
Michael Hussey 1.5 cr Batsman
Irfan Pathan 1.5 cr All-Rounder
Rahul Sharma 30 lakhs Bowler
Kyle Abbott 30 lakhs Bowler
Andrew Tye 20 lakhs Bowler
Pratyush Singh 10 lakhs All-rounder
Ankush Bains 10 lakhs Wicket-keeper
Eklavya Dwivedi 10 lakhs Wicket-keeper

Delhi Daredevils

Player Name Amount Paid (in Rs.) Role
Yuvraj Singh 16 cr Batsman
Angelo Mathews 7.5 cr All-rounder
Zaheer Khan 4 cr Bowler
Amit Mishra 3.5 cr  Bowler
Shreyas Iyer 2.6 cr Batsman
Gurinder Sandhu 1.7 cr  Bowler
Jaydev Unadkat 1.1 cr Bowler
Dominic Joseph Muthuswamy 75 lakhs Bowler
Albie Morkel 30 lakhs All-rounder
Travis Head 30 lakhs Batsman
Marcus Stoinis 25 lakhs All-rounder
CM Gautam 20 lakhs Wicket-keeper
Kona Srikar Bharat 20 lakhs Wicket-keeper
KK Jiyaz 10 lakhs Bowler

Kings XI Punjab

Player Name Amount Paid (in Rs.)  Role
Murali Vijay 3 crore Batsman
Nikhil Shankar Naik 30 lakhs Wicketkeeper
Yogesh Gowalkar 10 lakhs All-Rounder

Kolkata Knight Riders

Player Name Amount Paid (in Rs.) Role
KC Cariappa 2.4 cr Bowler
James Neesham 50 lakhs All-rounder
Brad Hogg 50 lakhs Bowler
Aditya Garhwal 25 lakhs All-rounder
Sheldon Jackson 15 lakhs Batsman
Sumit Narwal 10 lakhs All-rounder
Vaibhav Rawal 10 lakhs All-rounder

Mumbai Indians

Player Name Amount Paid (in Rs.) Role
Aaron Finch 3.2 cr Batsman
Pragyan Ojha 50 lakhs Bowler
Abhimanyu Mithun 30 lakhs Bowler
Mitchell McClenaghan 30 lakhs Bowler
Aiden Blizzard 30 lakhs Batsman
Hardik Pandya 10 lakhs All-rounder
Akshay Wakhare 10 lakhs Bowler
Siddesh Lad 10 lakhs All-rounder
J Suchitch 10 lakhs All-rounder
Nitesh Rana 10 lakhs All-rounder

Rajasthan Royals

Player Name Amount Paid (in Rs.) Role
Christopher Morris 1.4 cr All-rounder 
Juan Theron 30 lakhs Bowler
Barinder Singh Saran 10 lakhs Bowler
Dinesh Salunkhe 10 lakhs All-rounder
Sagar Trivedi 10 lakhs All-rounder
Pardeep Sahu 10 lakhs All-rounder

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Player Name Amount Paid (in Rs.) Role
Dinesh Kathik 10.5 cr Wicket-keeper
Darren Sammy 2.8 cr All-rounder
David Wiese 2.8 cr All-rounder
Sean Abbott 1 cr Bowler
Adam Milne 70 lakhs Bowler
Sarfaraz Naushad Khan 70 lakhs Batsman
Subramaniam Badrinath 70 lakhs Batsman
Jalaj Saxena 10 lakhs All-rounder
Shishir Bhavane 10 lakhs Batsman

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Player Name Amount Paid (in Rs.) Role
Trent Boult 3.8 cr Bowler
Praveen Kumar 2.2 cr Bowler
Kevin Pietersen 2 cr Batsman
Eoin Morgan 1.5 cr Batsman
Ravi Bopara 1 cr All-rounder
Kane Williamson 60 lakhs All-rounder
Laxmi Ratan Shukla 30 lakhs All-rounder
Prasanth Padmanabhan 10 lakhs All-rounder
Hanuma Vihari 10 lakhs Batsman
Siddarth Kaul 10 lakhs Bowler
Topics you might be interested in:
Massive Rafael Nadal fan. Occasional writer. blog:
Fetching more content...